You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being Happy Is A Choice... So Why Choose To Be Unhappy?

in #life7 years ago

I grew up dirt poor in roach infested dumps. My parents moved me 16 times from K-12. It was my choice to either use those things as excuses to fail or to overcome them. I overcame them and was successful. Success is not easy for me either. I have to work harder than lots of people. The key to my success though is that I do not give up.

It doesn't matter what hand you've been dealt in life. If you are tenacious enough and willing to work hard enough, you will succeed. There is no good excuse.

Sort:  

It was my choice to either use those things as excuses to fail or to overcome them. It doesn't matter what hand you've been dealt in life. If you are tenacious enough and willing to work hard enough, you will succeed. There is no good excuse.

this is a really good message. Thank you.

Even if you work hard and are successful doesn't mean you will be happy... maybe being too focused on success can have the opposite effect.

Well, we should always be improving ourselves, but by work I mean working on something you are passionate about.

I have done IT work for 20 years and hate it. It still didn't make me unhappy with life though.

The best solution is making your work something you love to do with or without pay. A good example is a friend of mine who snowboards. He found a way to live off doing what he loves to do.

Yeah and income isn't always a measure of happiness or success either. You see people living in the worst conditions and they still manage to be very happy people. I think surroundings are a big part of it.

I have been homeless and living outside before and the memories were some of the best and worst of my life. I am now a mother and home owner and am having the best and worst memories as well. But it is true that when being homeless those happy times were when my basic needs were met...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63062.73
ETH 2687.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54