You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Journeys, and Their Beginnings - and Steemit as a New Framework for Sharing

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Thanks for sharing @denmarkguy. Inspirational as always.

For me personally, I have changed significantly since last year May, when I encountered a indigenous tribe (the Kogi) in Colombia. The Kogi people believe that nature should be preserved, and that we exist to care for the world - a world they fear we are destroying. They have witnessed landslides, floods, deforestation, and the drying up of lakes and river. The Kogi made me aware of the fact that all my activities ultimately have an impact at a larger scale. Since then, I have devoted more attention to decreasing my ecological footprint, with increased recycling, less usage of plastics, eating healthy and consume less meat, among others. Never felt any better.

Sort:  

That's beautiful-- thanks for the share! We receive our wake-up calls in so many distinct ways... although it's often a common thread that such moments of epiphany come at times when we don't expect them.

Thank you... for stopping by and commenting, and for being part of the solution!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38