The Three Sieves story / La historia de los tres tamices.

in #life6 years ago

1.png
Source / Fuente

Happy Thursday for all my followers and new Steemians who have joined us today to our community.

Feliz Jueves para todos mis seguidores y para todos los nuevos Steemians que se han unido hoy a nuestra comunidad.

Today I bring you an excellent story I read a couple of weeks ago. I found it very interesting because envious people who only want to harm others’ reputation through gossip and jealousy often surround us, so I think this is an excellent way to learn a priceless lesson.

Hoy les traigo una excelente historia que leí hace un par de semanas. Me pareció muy interesante porque con frecuencia nos rodea gente envidiosa que solamente quiere dañar la reputación de otros a través de chismes y celos, así que creo que esta es una excelente forma de aprender una invaluable lección.

You’ll find first the English version and right after that the Spanish version can be found. The author of this story is unknown as some people say it was written in early 20th century and other people say it was written in the Ancient Greece. I tried to locate the real source of this text but was not possible.

Encontrarán primero la versión en inglés y después se encontrará la versión en español. El autor de esta historia es desconocido ya que algunos dicen que fue escrita a principios del siglo XX y otros dicen que fue escrita en la Antigua Grecia. Traté de localizar la fuente real de este texto pero no fue posible.

Divisor de texto.jpg

The Three Sieves story

Once upon a time in ancient Greece, one of the acquaintances of the great philosopher Socrates came up to him and said, “Socrates, do you know what I just heard about one of your students?”

“Hold on a moment,” Socrates replied. “Before you tell me, I would like to perform a simple test. It is called the ‘Three Sieves Test’ ”.

“The ‘Three Sieves Test?’ ”

“Yes. Before you say a word about my student, let’s take a moment to reflect carefully on what you wish to say by pouring your words through three special sieves.”

“The first sieve is the Sieve of Truth. Are you absolutely sure, without any doubt, that what you are about to tell me is true?”

“Well, no, I’m not. Actually I heard it recently and…”

“Alright,” interrupted Socrates. “So you don’t really know whether it is true or not. Then let us try the second sieve: the Sieve of Goodness. Are you going to tell me something good about my student?”

“Well…no,” said his acquaintance. “On the contrary…”

“So you want to tell me something bad about him,” questioned Socrates, “even though you are not certain if it is true or not?”
“Err…”

“You may still pass the test though,” said Socrates, “because there is a third sieve: the Sieve of Usefulness. Is what you want to tell me about my student going to be useful to me?”

“No. Not so much.” said the man resignedly.

Finishing the lesson, Socrates said: “Well, then, if what you want to tell me is neither true nor good nor useful, why bother telling me at all?”

Divisor de texto.jpg

La historia de los tres tamices

Hace mucho tiempo, en la antigua Grecia, uno de los conocidos del gran filósofo Sócrates se acercó a él y le dijo:

– Sócrates, ¿sabes lo que acabo de oír sobre uno de tus estudiantes?

– Un momento, – respondió Sócrates – antes de que me lo cuentes, me gustaría hacer una prueba, la de los tres tamices.

– ¿Los tres tamices?

– Sí, antes de contar cualquier cosa sobre mi estudiante, tomémonos un tiempo para reflexionar cuidadosamente en lo que quieres decir filtrando tus palabras por estos tres tamices especiales. Lo llamo el test de los tres tamices.

El primer tamiz es la verdad. ¿Estás completamente seguro, sin duda alguna, de que lo que me vas a decir es verdad?

– Bueno, no. De hecho, lo escuché recientemente y…

– Muy bien – interrumpió Sócrates –, así que realmente no sabes si es verdad o no. Entonces probemos con el segundo tamiz: el tamiz de la Bondad. ¿Vas a decirme algo bueno sobre mi estudiante?

– ¡Bueno, no!, dijo el hombre, ¡por el contrario…!

– Entonces, - cuestionó Sócrates – quieres contarme cosas malas acerca de él y ni siquiera estás seguro de que sean verdaderas.

– Hmmmm

– Tal vez aún puedes pasar la prueba – dijo Sócrates –, porque hay un tercer tamiz: el de la Utilidad. ¿Lo que vas a decir sobre mi estudiante será útil para mí?

– ¡No, no mucho!, dijo el hombre de manera resignada.

Terminando la lección, Sócrates dijo:

– Si lo que ibas contarme no es ni cierto, ni bueno, ni útil; ¿por qué molestarse en decírmelo?

Ok, I hope you have enjoyed this story and that this text has been a good contribution to what’s happening in this platform and out of it.

Divisor de texto.jpg

Ok, espero que hayan disfrutado de esta historia y que este texto haya sido una gran contribución a lo que está sucediendo en esta plataforma y fuera de ella.

See you in my next post with more interesting topics!

¡Nos vemos en mi siguiente post con más temas interesantes!

Thank you - Hannibal.gif

Divisor de texto.jpg

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif

Divisor de texto.jpg

Did you read my last posts yet? Let me invite you to read:

¿Ya leíste mis últimos posts? Permíteme invitarte a leer:

My translation service offer / Mi oferta de servicios de traducción

Sort:  

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.39$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47