You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Should We, As Men , Suppress Our Emotions?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Personally, I live by the saying "grow a pair of balls man."

I am an action kind of person not a waste my damn time crying about stuff. Do something about it instead.

And I promise you I wasn't "taught" to believe this way as my father's family are some of the most emotional people I have ever seen. They cry at every single family gathering we have ever had for some reason or other .. happy or sad times.

Sort:  

I wholeheartedly disagree. Being someone of action is a good thing, but there are times in everyone's life where they could use the emotional support of another human being.

Or as an individual you can take on your own responsibility for you own happiness, stability, and emotional well-being?

I would suggest a person actually learn from an early age that no one looks out for "you" except "yourself" at least not on the same level.

And of course people need or want emotional support, but don't you think that a solid family foundation should take care of that need? Why should "society" be responsible?

I enjoyed your post @calaber24p, but I do tend to lean more towards this comment by @fat-like-buddha. I tend to be a pretty emotional guy, under certain circumstances, but my opinion is that this is my own burden to bear. I've cried plenty in my life, but I've never felt that society should somehow be more accepting of my emotion. I can man up and get over it and grow a pair of balls, and I can also have my emotional vents in my own private time when I feel comfortable. It's a tricky balance, and society is definitely changing it's attitude, but I guess I just lean a bit more towards the old school "be a man, deal with it" mentality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57956.22
ETH 3126.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45