Wrapping up my IT business. Saying goodbye to clients that I have known for years is harder than I thought it would be.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I think my consumer clients can feel that something is brewing regarding quitting my job.

I have been getting many calls lately, more than usual it feels, and I have not picked them up.

I checked my voicemail today and I had 15 messages all asking for help.

I think part of me was thinking that as long as I don't tell them I'm wrapping up the business I would still have the security 'feeling' of a job.

Today I decided that I was being an idiot and I needed to make the decision.

I called them all up 1 by 1 and told them that I'm going to do something else with my life.

Unlike with the termination of the contracts (pure business) with these consumer clients I have relationships going back almost a decade.

The reactions were nice though in the end.


Snapseed.jpg


Telling another person that you don't have time to help them anymore after 10 years is sort of like breaking up with someone.

Now, I don't have much experience with breaking up.

Hell, the last time I had to go through that I was 17 and in high school.

But similar feelings came back.

You don't want to do it but you know that you have too.

The reaction from the clients was strangely in line with what I remember..

"But....why don't you want me anymore?"

But without the tears.

In some way that was nice. I must have done something right in all those years.

I, of course, thanked all of them for the work they have provided me within the past 10 years and they all wished me good luck on my new adventure.

And that was that.

In the next couple of weeks, I will be having this conversation many times I think.

I must admit, this part of the plan is having a more emotional toll on me than I would have thought beforehand.

It surely is all becoming more real for me now.



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

In reality, you're closing your business to concentrate more on Mega Man X.

LOL!!!

Man handsame...

A rather just and noble cause, I would add.

Relationships are relationships, whether personal or business.

It's probably just as hard for your clients, as they will now have to seek someone else to do this work for them, and they have no idea how much more $$$ it's going to cost them - that is if they can even find anyone that is as reliable and trustworthy.

This is a true steemian at work.
Focus is paramount.
You are doing the same thing IT WORK but now with blockchain and less headache I guess.
Good luck with this discipline and Keep on steemin'

Good luck with the new chapter in your career and your life! Change is always difficult, but it seems like you are well prepared for it ;) ... and you never know, you may be able to help again all the same people (and new ones) in a different way in the near future! Godspeed!

It's always so hard to say no to anything that is currently a responsibility in life. Even with much smaller things like participation in various Steem initiatives, when I have to cut something out, it's excruciating before I do it.

Congratulations though dude! I've been following your blog for a year now and I was wondering when you'd go full-time. Makes total sense to me and Steem is lucky to have all of your energy now.

A year already :) And thanks, man! Glad to read I'm not the only one that has this feel.

I remember your previous post where you said you're ending the contract with your hospital; that probably wasn't as hard as this.

Don't feel so terrible about this. It's a great step for you. I'm sure those guys are happy for you too.

It isn't a easy thing to make a decision and stick to it. Well done!

Surprised learn about your high school affair, you seems to be very confident personality right from school days....All the very best with the new blockchain business.

Hey are you anytime building a notif app for steemit on android ?

Yes, It's currently being developed.

Hot damn!! You are truly going for it big style!! Amazeballs dude! Everything will work out awesome for you!

Thank you, man!

Hard decisions. Succes with dealing with it. But at the end you made your OWN decision and that is what matters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54