Vlog #48: Monetizing your knowledge

in #life7 years ago (edited)

When you know something about anything that knowledge is valuable.

Ever since we got our first Macintosh computer (I was 3, my dad used to sell them) in our house I have been in love with computers. I know a lot about them, all self-taught.

When computers became more mainstream I was asked to help others out. Usually for free. I didn't realize my knowledge had value at the time. I just liked doing it.

It was only when I started my own company in 2008 that I realized that others are willing to pay for my knowledge. The first time this happened I remember even feeling guilty about it.

'How can I charge for solving such a simple problem!'

Now I realize that what are simple problems for me is total abracadabra for normal consumers even today.

There is therefor absolutely nothing wrong with monetizing your knowledge.

In my vlog I talk about it more and also about the biggest treat to your knowledge.

"The brain picker".



signature Follow Me @exyle


Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

Sort:  

You have a way of explaining any topic you cover in a very simple and easy way to follow and understand. That is not an easy thing to do, but it seems to come naturally to you. That I believe is a skill and comes from you really knowing your stuff about the topics you discuss. You bring up excellent points of the monetization of your knowledge. You're simply monetizing the time you've invested to learn something that other's have not or will not invest themselves, so there is value in that. Steemit is a great platform to monetize your knowledge b/c in essence, you can "condense time" by reaching many people at a given time discussing a problem your knowledge can solve that they find of value in. Information is the most powerful form of knowledge b/c you only have to learn it once, but can be paid many times for that knowledge in the future. Great post as always. You've really got me thinking how I can use my specific knowledge I've acquired over the years. Thank you!

Your welcome, and thank you so much for the nice words about the way I explain things.

Thanks for sharing this with us. I enjoyed hearing more about your journey with your first business and with crypto. I liked how you said you were surprised to get paid for your first job at your business, because normally you would do it for a snickers and some milk, haha :) I had felt a similar feeling when I closed my first clients at my business.

Good day @exyle

Some interesting topics today. I'm looking forward to the communities for sure, I may actually start blogging a bit more in my subject area of IT.

So yeah, back to monetising knowledge, this is how to make a living, right? Most people are doing it one way or another. And as far as charging what you did, or do these days, maybe think about how much you value your time, over the difficulty of the task. I think then it's possible to feel less guilty about the cost for the client?

Ps. My girl is listening with me at the beach today, she calls you the David Attenborough of steemit, stating your voice to be very soothing! :) haha

Cheers

Asher

LOL @ David Attenborough. Man, I love his voice in Nature shows. I never heard that about my voice before.

He's an absolute legend, and one of the only reasons I can say I'm ok with being British.

Its funny, I played a vlog last night by someone with initials JB, and she did not give a similar comparison at all! 😂🤐

I can very well understand how you might have felt when you got paid for solving a simple problem... most small businesses today are service providers, these businesses sell time, not a product. Time is a finite resource, we each only have so many hours in a day. So, you must never feel guilty when charging your customers, as you are giving your precious time and knowledge to them.

Just one word man -- 'Wow". The way you described this wisdom, I think everyone would get something valuable from it. Always monetize your knowledge is the best thing I have ever heard. People generally runs towards starting a strat-up but they don't even know they themselves are the startups. All they have to do is to find a way to monetize it. You justifies this statement that- KNowledge is Power. It is indeed and we should not waste it freely on each and everyone. Help those in need but always use your knowledge to make your life better. Thanks for the wisdom man @exyle

It is weird how something so natural and fluent to you can be so difficult to someone else.
However that word 'fluent' is important as knowledge is like learning a language, there is a hard work aspect in it which you have put in and I guess you deserve getting paid for that work.
How did the company go when it first started?
At least in the past you used to help a lot of people for free but you were rewarded indirectly with things such as the BTC price surge :)

My company did horrible at the start. Getting clients was hard!

I wish I could sell what I peddle... early retirment in paradise! Computer knowledge is more in demand I suppose!

Selling Freedom on here does well! :)

"I realized that others are willing to pay for my knowledge. The first time this happened I remember even feeling guilty about it."

I can definitely relate! That's what makes the service industry difficult ... how do you put a number on something you enjoy doing? After the agony of figuring that out, though, it's a great feeling when you and the customer walk away having gained something!

yes very true! Thanks!

I totally agree with you.. right down to the fact of feeling guilty for accepting payment for help
Over the years i've been paid if food, chocolate, deodorants, tooth past and clothes :-)

But yes totally... knowledge is valuable and a commodity to sell

lol @ the forms of payments! haha, but I can relate :)

Good post, and important info in here, thanks

This comment has received a 0.10 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35