Picking up my niece from school! Ice-cream, Ipad, cookies and an ever so slightly surprised mom.

in #life7 years ago

Today I had to pick up my niece from school. Her name is Juliet and she is 4 years old. I was scared of being late (it’s a 30-minute drive from my house). So, I arrived way too early just to be sure to be on time. I was being eyed by the group of mothers waiting for their kids at the school. I guess they don’t like strangers.


me
My two nieces and me. Juliet is on the right


Can't find my niece.

I am there, waiting, looking at the school door when it finally opens! A river of kids starts pouring out. I can’t find my niece. There are too many of them. I’m getting worried. Am I in the right spot? I grab my phone and send a message to her mom. She confirms I’m in the right place! Thank god.

I am still looking for her when I feel somebody hugging my legs. I look down and see that it is Juliet. I feel ashamed. I am a horrible lookout but very relieved that she found me.

She starts talking straight away while I hold her hand walking to my brother’s house.

Apparently, she was late because the class had to sing a song before they could leave (seems legit). I need to remember that one next time I’m late for a client.

‘Mama always let me have Ice-cream after school’

She says, ‘Mama always let me have Ice-cream after school’. I think by myself that’s fantastic I would like some Ice-cream too. Personally, I don’t remember getting Ice-scream every time I got out of school. Times must have changed.

She also tells me what she wants to become later in life. She wants to become a toy doctor. I didn't know what I wanted to be until I was 28. So I'm impressed.

We arrive at my brother’s house and she starts hanging her coat on the rack and places her shoes in the hall perfectly. Next thing she sprints to the freezer. It’s time for ice-cream.

We both select a nice ice-Scream and she walks to the couch were the Ipad is waiting. She turns the thing on like a pro and that’s it. The human interaction has stopped.

me
I used to play the NES the new kids play with Ipad.


I grab my laptop and start browsing the web. After the ice-cream is finished she says her mother always lets her have a second one. Isn't her mother the best!

I love ice-cream so we have more. We also have two cookies and a chocolate egg (with a toy inside). I don’t complain this is great! Even Bianca (my girlfriend) doesn’t let me have all this!

Once every 15 minutes, I ask if she is ok and she says YES!! She smiles from ear to ear so I guess that must be true.

She reminds me a little bit of me. I used to like to play by myself and not get bothered by other people too much.

After two and a half hours her mother arrives. She was late because the Tram broke down.

Time flew by if I'm honest.

Juliet runs to her mom and says:

'Uncle Mark let me have two ice-creams!'

I get the mothers look....

I quickly realized I was played by a four-year-old...

I don't really care.

Would eat two ice-creams again :)


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Lol, Juliet is a clever little thing. Really love that story, brought a smile to my face this morning. Thank you.

She sure is! Thank you for your kind comment!

Hey brother!

Man, the kids of today know the ways of the world so early on in life! I still have to play these games with my wife to eat ice-cream and I'm a fully grown adult, lol! Excellent anecdote and a great introduction to more of your amazing family. Simply loving your blog, bro. Just keep 'em coming! :)

(p.s. Loved the NES and SNES when I was growing up, so much fun in those carefree days. I miss them so much.)

Man, you have no idea how much I miss the days of NES, SNES, Megadrive. Browsing games in the store. Nothing to go on but a few tiny screengrabs and some text. Also reading reviews game magazine Nintedo POWER. O man..I just remembered I have my old NES upstairs. It has a big crack on it because one time I got so mad I slammed it :). I wonder if it still works. Might be a story there.

Great story. I think Juliet wants you to pick her up more often!!

I'm sure she would like this with all that ice-cream! But that's not good for her (and me!) so let keep it exclusive :)

Great story, makes me lough at the end!

I'm glad you liked it! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.96 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60606.72
ETH 2910.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44