Vlog 272: bSteem, a new mobile app for the blockchain (made by @jm90mm).

in #life6 years ago


bSteem is a new mobile app to access the Steem blockchain here.

It's made by user: @jm90mm.

You can use the app to create, curate and post content to the steem blockchain on your phone (iOS and Android).

For a first release, it already has a lot of features. You can read about all of it here and here.

I gave it a go this morning with my test account, posting and commenting, and works really nice.

I especially like the editor.

Three screenshots from the app


Screen Shot 2018-04-10 at 10.40.54.png


The app uses Steemconnect and charges no beneficiary rewards on content created.

I talk about it more in my vlog. (from @2:16)



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Thanks for the review! bSteem's goal is to push technology advancement forward, I do not care about money. I want to make the best mobile app for steem. I even tweeted to @ned about it here https://twitter.com/jmmyers33/status/983437725016772608

If we want steem to go mainstream, we need to stop focusing on apps that make a quick profit!

I want to note that bSteem will never store or hold any of your private keys, all authentication is done via steemconnect. No private information related to private keys is ever stored on bSteem.

upfostee.gifI am following you, please follow me and I vote for you and you will vote for me

Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

Your Reputation Could be a Tasty Snack with the Wrong Comment!

Thank You! ⚜

My steemconnect never loads! It says website not found!

What device are you using ?

A laptop. I have looked into it today. It seems that when I click a link from a steemit post with the steemconnect address it says error page not found.
I log into steem connect manually and it works ok i think..

A place where i can download apps for steemit?

I personally dont see any need to log in through any app especially if this app does not give any extra feature. Even if the app does not store your keays and even if it uses steemconnect !! since it is only an interface that lets you access your steemit account then why not having a shortcut of the official steemit on your smartphone hom screen as explained hereafter. I am using it and i can edit posts, write comments, add images, and do anything without the use of any 3rd party app !!
I had created a shortcut to steemit on my smartphone. It is a direct link to steemit website automatically resized to fit the smartphone screen. Anyone can shortcut steemit on his/her smartphone and logging in directly through the official steemit page. Open CHROME and log in your steemit account then hit the option buttons on the top right (the 3 dots) and tap add to home screen and you are done. below a screenshot of steemit logo (the shortcut of steemit on my home screen)
Screenshot_20180411-202246.png

wow! this is amazing, another third party app to make steemit more efficient, thanks to all developers who made bsteem is another accomplishment in our community. :)

Well as time is going by many more developed apps are gonna arrive out in here :)

It is indeed good that we now got bSteem ,great work done by @jm90mm

Hope it gets the recognition it is suppose to get :)

I think it's hard to wait sometime for buying! Happy Gainz!

bSteem App looks cool with a good user-friendly design ... Thanks @exyle for sharing about it!

It’s great to know there are more options to use steemit on different apps. There actually is not much. However, I don’t like to share my any key with third party apps. That’s what I love about Steemify. You don’t have use your keys the use it. You can get notifications and use Steemit directly. Anyway, thanks for this informative post.

Steemify doesn’t ask you Coz you need only notifications from them, but if you click on the post ( subject of notification) , and try to edit something or vote or any ( they will ask you to log in with your private key too .
Notification vs posting or voting options is the key difference between steem dapps that ask for keys. But generally as @exyle said above steemconnect is made to be safe ( and will encrypt your keys before steem dapps connect to you.
However, not all dapps are safe 100% .. dapps will not have your key but have the permission already to do what is to be done by a key.
So, better to power up most of your steem assets.. leaving very little steem or SBD not powered.. and never use your master key .. use posting or by far active key.. so if something wrong happened, hacking you account so to say, hacker needs long weeks to power down ( and will not be able to withdraw) .. meanwhile you would use your master key to log in and change it which will immediately change all your other keys and hacker cannot steel your funds.
That’s to the best of my knowledge .. and I wish if something wrong anyone to enlighten us more !
Cheers 🥂
@milano1113

I agree! You have a great point to power up all you have. I did mention that I use Steemify for notifications only and to do everything else I use steemit directly. But as I mentioned, you have a great point.

I personally dont see any need to log in through any app especially if this app does not give any extra feature. Even if the app does not store your keays and even if it uses steemconnect !! since it is only an interface that lets you access your steemit account then why not having a shortcut of the official steemit on your smartphone hom screen as explained hereafter. I am using it and i can edit posts, write comments, add images, and do anything without the use of any 3rd party app !!
I had created a shortcut to steemit on my smartphone. It is a direct link to steemit website automatically resized to fit the smartphone screen. Anyone can shortcut steemit on his/her smartphone and logging in directly through the official steemit page. Open CHROME and log in your steemit account then hit the option buttons on the top right (the 3 dots) and tap add to home screen and you are done. below a screenshot of steemit logo (the shortcut of steemit on my home screen)
Screenshot_20180411-202246.png

Is there any added danger to logging in to these different apps with our password?

I personally had created a shortcut to steemit on my smartphone. I do not need to log in any app.... It is a direct link to steemit website automatically resized to fit the smartphone screen. I am able to write a post and share whatever i want and even comment (by the way this comment had been written from this link). Anyone can shortcut steemit on his/her smartphone and logging in directly through the official steemit page. Open CHROME and log in your steemit account then hit the option buttions on the top right (the 3 dots) and tap add to home screen and you are done.

thanks for the advice works a treat

most welcome !! I always try to find a way to avoid using keys and passwords on apps developped by other people is i do not know them and cannot trust them !! at the end some apps are just useless and do not give any value added to the service provided. So just limiting the risks !!

Steemconnect will use your active key. Which when compromised can transfer liquid funds from your account.

I consider Steemconnect safe, but I can't 100% guarantee it.

I never use my master key with steem connect so in case something bad would happen I can always change the keys.

There always is

Nice! I haven't been able to get eSteem to work for me and I've tried everything. So this should be a fantastic little app to try out. Thanks for giving it your thumbs up and quick review.

As for your format, I have a few followers that entrust in me an 'auto upvote' when I create new content and I always think of them when I'm about to press publish on anything....

It's a debate within me, do I create the content when I feel the inspiration or will that be abusing the trust they have in upvoting me once a day on my 'regular schedule'....Because there are SOOO many cool things to create with on the blockchain.

Guess it's a good problem to have :)

I personally had created a shortcut to steemit on my smartphone. I do not need to log in any app.... It is a direct link to steemit website automatically resized to fit the smartphone screen. I am able to write a post and share whatever i want and even comment (by the way this comment had been written from this link). Anyone can shortcut steemit on his/her smartphone and logging in directly through the official steemit page. Open CHROME and log in your steemit account then hit the option buttions on the top right (the 3 dots) and tap add to home screen and you are done.

Yeah, I guess it's a luxury problem indeed :)

I personally used bSteem few Days ago and considering that how new this application the features that it provides are really impressive.

@exyle,
The good news is it's using STEEMCONNECT! Anyway not 100% secured, but yeah a good solution for the security wise! I will try to test this app! Thank you!

Cheers~

I personally had created a shortcut to steemit on my smartphone. I do not need to log in any app.... It is a direct link to steemit website automatically resized to fit the smartphone screen. I am able to write a post and share whatever i want and even comment (by the way this comment had been written from this link). Anyone can shortcut steemit on his/her smartphone and logging in directly through the official steemit page. Open CHROME and log in your steemit account then hit the option buttions on the top right (the 3 dots) and tap add to home screen and you are done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67629.79
ETH 3231.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65