"I can't send it upside down". A recent client story.

in #life7 years ago

A couple of days ago I got a phone call from a client. And by the sound of his light panicky voice, I knew something terrible must be up.

His scanner didn't work and he couldn't send his invoices to his clients.

This is something that would make me panic too (as a business owner) if I didn't know how to fix this.

So I offer to go there straight away. He accepts.

It's 19:45.


me


Now I already changed into my chill outfit. Sneakers, shorts, T-shirt. And normally I would change back into more decent looking clothes for work but I guess my new found sense of freedom makes me think differently about these things now.

Why would he be upset about my chill outfit? I'm there to help him at 20:00 on a weekday. Fuck it, I'm going to try it. I grab my bag and leave.

I arrive and he opens the door. He doesn't even look at the way I'm dressed. He couldn't care less.

For 8 years I have worried about this for nothing.

The problem

Now you would probably think that the client in question makes handwritten bills and needs to scan those. But no.

He makes the invoices on his computer (Word). Prints them. Then uses his scanner to scan them to PDF and then emails the PDF's to his clients.

Now I could change his workflow by installing a PDF printer or offer a similar solution. But I know I'm dealing with an absolute beginner and sometimes in these situations, it's easier to keep HIS workflow intact than offer a better one.

So I look at the problem and quickly identify that the bottom lines of his invoices are not being picked up by the scanner because they are too close to the edge.

The solution is simple.

I turn the paper around in the scanner.

"But now It's going to be upside down in the computer", the man says.

I press scan and the invoice appears on the screen and it's indeed upside down. It is perfectly scanned.

"I can't send it upside down", he says.

"Just wait", I say.

I move the mouse to the clockwise arrow icon on the screen and say: "Watch this".

I click twice. The paper is upright again.

The man looks at me like I just performed a magic trick.

"LET ME DO IT"

The man clicks the rotating arrow button and is making cheering sounds. The paper is spinning around on the screen.

I'm sitting next to him. I'm having a blast. This is great.

We save the document to PDF and he is over the moon.

I spent about 15 minutes there and I tell the man I won't send him a bill. I can't do it for rotating a paper.

He shakes my hand and I leave.

I smile all the way home.


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Hey my bro!

Man, I love that story! And I think it's so very nice of you not to charge him (although the joke alone was probably worth it, lol)

Actually your post took me back to my university days when I was playing an RTS with a friend of mine. No joke, I was trying to show him how to play this game. I remember clearly saying to him, "OK, now scroll to the other end of the screen and click the top right icon."

Well, he starts doing it but stops halfway. I ask him, "What's wrong? Just go to the top of the screen."

He's like, "But I'm on the edge of the mouse mat." I look at him in stunned silence for a second, then say calmly, "All you do is pick up the mouse, move it back to the middle of the mat and keep going."

He's like, "Oh, right. I get it."

Wtf? I couldn't believe what I just witnessed, but yes, true story. It did happen, lol!

Beautiful post as always, my bro. Look forward to more from you real soon. :)

Hahaha, yes these things happen all the time! Love the story with your friend because in a way it makes perfect sense what he did. He just didn't know how to fix it!

"For 8 years I have worried about this for nothing." Haha this made me laugh; I'm always trying to check myself on what I'm worrying and wasting time about for no reason. Great post, I think the loyalty this client will have for you will far outweigh the invoice you would've sent. Nice move 👍

Awesome story!! It truly never ceases to amaze how the greatest feelings you get in life are from doing a good deed for someone else. Whether it's surprising your wife with flowers, bringing home a toy for your child or opening a door for stranger, the human soul gets it's greatest sense of gratification from acts of love and generosity! Cheers my friend! You just helped make the world a little bit better! :)

You are a true gentlemen for not taking the bill, you will be greatly for this generosity. Keep up the great work.

Great job going above and beyond to fix the clients problem late at night! I am sure you earned his respect for sure!

And great that you letting your hair down and not stressing too much about your attire. For sure after hours you cannot be expected to still be in a suit.

Enjoy the beer!

This made me laugh ) And I know what kind of person your client is... My mum is just the same.
One day she called me all excited and told me - "hey you know... the internet is flooded with your online stuff. Featured articles, interviews and all...!"
I was like "Wow - now tell me how did you find out?"
And she said - "I googled Ani Alexander" LOL

I love it when a simple fix just blows a client away. He will praise your name forever! I am wearing shorts and running shoes today at my law office because I don't have any clients coming in and I felt like rebelling against the universe a little today!

Feels good, doesn't it! :)

You are a magician ;0) enjoy that beer!

always enjoy the beer!

Haha..Awesome!

pretty funny story, upvoted. I just wonder how is that that you have born with all skills, so that you can give your knowledge for free. Others told me that have had to learn for years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68014.74
ETH 3533.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81