For the first time in my life I hit another car today.

in #life6 years ago

I was supposed to babysit Sam today.

My sister and her boyfriend were going to run half a marathon somewhere in Rotterdam and I was charted to look over the little one.

I was looking forward to it. I had not seen him in a while.

Two hours before I had to leave it started to snow.

A lot!


IMG_7418.jpg


I thought about canceling the appointment but I didn't want to let my sister down.

So I decided to take the risk.

I went to my car and removed all the snow.

I turned on the heating and slowly made my way to Rotterdam.

It was ok. A little bit slippery but nothing major.

Now, I like to believe I'm an ok driver... :)

I get a fine from time to time for speeding (+5km to fast), like anyone else, but I'm not an idiot. I behave.

So I was driving really slow through the snow when I approached a traffic light.

In front of the light was a car.

I must have been going 10 km/h.

I pressed the brakes lightly well ahead but.....I just kept going.

My tires had zero traction.

I tried to pump the brakes but it didn't matter.

I was heading towards the car in the most irritating annoying slow way and there was nothing I could do.

And then I hit another car for the first time in my life ever.


IMG_7398.jpg


I got out and the first thing I wanted to know if the other guy was ok.

He was a young man. maybe 20, and a bit shook.

We took pictures of the whole thing and then exchanged numbers.

He's coming over tomorrow with his dad to fill in the paperwork.

Obviously, I could not make it to my sister in time so I informed her.

She understood.

Later she informed me that the whole marathon was canceled because the organisation could not guarantee the safety of the runners.

Lol, go figure.

When the snow clears the first I'm going to do is go to the garage and get some winter tires.

I learned my lesson.



I have recently become a witness with our developer group blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.


Sort:  

You got a 2.97% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @fproductions!

hahaha lovely... I love that fellow... look at him all worked up and diligent xD

House Stark's worthy heir! :)

hahahaha, I'm dying. That's awesome!

I live in snow country, when it is winter time. Something that many people don't know that I think should be taught in drivers ed is how to stop when it is slick out from snow or ice. It won't prevent 100% off accidents but it will prevent the majority of them when you start to slide if you do this.
Throw your car into neutral it will go into neutral from drive or reverse without having to depress a button or pulling it forward (depending on the type of car) and if you are driving a manual then if you go into neutral it slows the spin of your tires and by tapping the breaks (don't slam on them that will cause the slide to get worse) it will bring you to a stop. Since I was shown this trick I haven't had any winter accidents. (Thankfully I had been lucky and they had always just been one car slide off accident type things.)

Great advice! Thanks. I have a manual car. So neutral and tap breaks?

there are benefits to being married to a former racer.

So sorry to hear of the annoying slide into another car. Something similar happened to me a few years ago on 'black ice.' ( ice on asphalt ). However, I must say that I am a bit jealous that you have snow. Here in North Idaho, we do not have real snow yet and I was really hoping for a white Christmas, our first one back to the states in a while.

They expect more snow to fall later today. I'm staying by the fire today. Did you slide too with no way of stopping? I felt pretty helpless...and silly I can tell you that. Learned a good lesson though.

Yes, exactly the same as you, helpless. I realized that there was nothing I could do about it and just accepted. Made impact a lot less in my head - LOL

That sucks @exyle ... I'm also not looking forward to tomorrow when i have to remove a ton of snow from my car... I'll make sure to leave 30min early!

Drive safe!

hope you are fine as well.
Damage on the cars will be solved, pick up some winter tyres and hit the road again

I'm ok thanks!

I hope all will be fine and the man will understand that this all happened due to fog and heavy snowfall. Take care of yourself my friend.

Yay, another Dutchie. Hello from Australia. It has been a while since I have seen snow. Love the pictures.

Hi friends you both are looking wonderful in winter dresses. I can feel the trouble you had face while driving in snow. But you are a very good brother too, who cares his sister so much. Thanks friend good people are very hard to meet in life, stay blessed and healthy friends and enjoy the winter.

Thanks for sharing your story. Life is a series of lessons learned. Never stop learning, never stop growing, and always drive insured! :-)

Driving insured indeed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84