Cod fish with potatoes, garlic and grilled vegetables from the oven. 100% steemfat approved (I think).

in #life6 years ago (edited)

If anyone was wondering if we managed to resist the valley of temptation in the cinema last night I can tell you we succeeded.

It was rather easy though because we could not get inside :)

All the tickets machines were offline and there was a huge crowd of people being annoyed.

Funny that when technology fails everything comes to a standstill but it's good for Project Steemfat 3 I guess (no popcorn).

We went home and watched a movie there instead.

We just drank sparkling water, no food. A small victory.

We going to try again tonight to see the film 'The shape of water'.


Today I also found myself in the gym for the second time this week.

I had a chest session and it went very well.

In fact it went so well I did some extra core exercises just because I felt like it. That's always good sign.

For dinner I was craving for something pure and simple. A detox meal, I guess.

We opted for fish from the oven and grilled vegetables.

Let's cook!


Snapseed 3.jpg


Ingredients: Cod Fish, onions, garlic, potatoes, parsley, bell pepper, leak, spring onions and black olives (not in the picture).


IMG_1541.jpg


Prep the vegetables. Just give them a rough chop.


IMG_1545.jpg


Add the potatoes to a pan of boiling water and cook them until almost soft.


IMG_1546.jpg


Prepare an oven dish and line it with aluminium foil. I cut the fish in 3 equal pieces and put them in the center.


IMG_1543.jpg


Add the almost cooked potatoes around the fish.


IMG_1548.jpg


Add the onions, the leak and the bell pepper on top. Spread it out evenly.


IMG_1550.jpg


Drizzle olive oil over the vegetables and add cloves of crushed garlic randomly over the dish. Also add black olives.


IMG_1554.jpg

IMG_1552.jpg

IMG_1555.jpg


Preheat the oven at 180-200c celcius. Put in the oven dish. I thought 30 minutes would be enough for everything to cook but the fish was still a little bit raw so we ended up cooking it for a total of 45 min.


IMG_1559.jpg


It looks burned but it's not. The vegetables turn slightly sweet when grilled. It's delicious.


Snapseed 2.jpg


End Result! A very clean dish full of good yet simple flavours. The fish was cooked well and 'flaked' nicely, the vegetables were sweet and the potatoes cooked well and soft. All and all I was very happy with this result.


Snapseed.jpg



I am a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

That sounds delicious! But have you ever tried a "spinach bed" so it could give your fish a stronger taste?

What I do is place olive oil on the bottom of the pan and then cover the whole pan with spinach. Then I season both sides of my tilapia with garlic, salt, and pepper and then place it on top of the spinach. After 40 minutes of baking the fish is ready to eat. At this point the spinach looks soggy and charred at the same time but its okay since the fish absorbed all the flavor!

If you try this and it blows your mind like I think it will, you can thank me later :)

that's sounds like a awesome dish! Thanks man!

@exyle,
I never tried Cod Fish before! It seems delicious and how about if we add little more pepper to it?

Cheers~

Simply awesome...Cod fish is a good source of heart-healthy omega-3 fatty acids and also garlic , grill veggies makes perfect combination,makes it healthy and delicious, hence Steemfat approved!

The shape of water is fantastic movie. I highly recommend.

It was nice film indeed!

Good to see you back on track. I love to see healthy food like these since in an Indian home food without too much spice n curry is unthinkable.

Your fish looks amazing with all these veggies on top you just keep giving me ideas. It’s so simple what you do, but until now I have never thought about mixing fish and all these veggies together and put it in to the oven.
I hope you enjoy your movie.

wow amazing recipe indeed, i really like cod fish and especially grilled vegetables are my favorite because they increase the flavor and taste of the dish and they are also full of nutrients and vitamins, i note down the recipe and i surely give it a try and man the end result of the dish is no doubt superb and it looks so tasty too, thanks for sharing this recipe with us and wish you a very joyful and cheerful week ahead friend, Stay blessed.

I personally love cooking and I love a man who has passion for it like my dad. And you cook well too.
well done sir. you are getting really better at it.
It looks delicious.

Ha, ha, ha. I love how you take the success even though you couldn't get inside. Good for you!

Fish I always think of as a healthy meal. Even though I enjoy it I can never get excited about it. Except perhaps Thai Seabass. I always say to my partner (who cooks) it satisfies my body but not my emotions. 😁

I do like fish from time to time. But nothing beats a good steak :)

I am getting hungry just looking at what you created. The sole is my favorite fish. Olive oil makes almost every meal tasty and what is amazing is that you haven't added in lard or heavy sauces to the mix. Very healthy indeed.

Sole is delicious indeed but I don' t eat it often. No sauces today, wanted something 'clean'.

It looks very clean and very healthy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47