"Be careful with Bitcoin, it's dangerous!". This is one of the first things I heard when I went to work today.

in #life6 years ago

"Be careful with Bitcoin, it's dangerous!"

This is one of the first things I heard when I went to work today.

Nowadays I usually just nod when I hear things like that and hope it will go away.

Which it did.

I no longer feel the need to debate.

Blockchain will be in everyone's life all by itself.

I just prefer to invest my time with people that see it too.


IMG_7759.jpg


What the person mend that said it is probably the speculative price at the moment.

They probably watched the news and saw 'respectable people' tell them it's a bubble or whatnot.

Now it's hard to argue for or against that because the price of Bitcoin can go up or crash at any moment.

I have seen this before.

But I'm also convinced that the person that said it has not spent one evening researching the technology behind Bitcoin and trying to understand it.

And yet, they have an opinion about it fully ready.

Now, I used to be like that. I can't lie.

When I heard about Bitcoin in 2011, I thought it was nonsense. A waste of time.

Only when I sat down and spend one evening researching it in 2013. It opened my eyes.

What helped was at that time I was researching where fiat money comes from. (which was a shocker in itself).

I spend probably months of my life trying to understand the technology and thinking of ways how it can be used.

I also bought my first Bitcoin around that time.


I invested in Bitcoin because I saw the value of the technology that drives it. Blockchain.


And I could not stop talking about it.

I must have told everyone I know. I drove them crazy.

Most of the time to deaf ears.

And eventually, I stopped talking about it.

But I kept learning by myself.

I taught myself about Ethereum and eventually STEEM and all other kinds of crypto.

Now, all that information is in my head. And I understand it. I live it daily.

But what's happening now is strange.

People are getting interested in crypto and asking me about it.

But it's not about the technology.

It's about in which crypto they should invest. It's about the quick money. (I sense this straight away)

And it rubs me the wrong way.

I just can't get motivated to explain it.

I was wondering if you guys have similar experiences like this.

Now, to talk about the technology with likeminded people is heaven.

The first time I truly understood this was Steemfest 1.

200 people like me in one location talking about crypto and not having to explain myself.

I loved it.

And since then it only got better.

I now get to talk about it almost daily in my vlogs, but also with @ezzy and @rea and the @blockbrothers, Bianca ( @bkdbkd) and my mom ( @clio), and probably a lot of people on steemit.

And they all love it for what it is even though they are at various stages of understanding.

It makes all the difference.

I feel very fortunate.



I have recently become a witness with our developer group @blockbrothers for the Steem blockchain. If you want to support us I would appreciate your vote here.

We build Steemify a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.

Get it Here:


Sort:  

"And they all love it for what it is even though they are at various stages of understanding". That's nicely said, Mark, I don't understand everything, but I'm learning every day and I do love it for what it is. Just a few days ago you explained to me the difference between the witnesses Steem has and the way other crypto's handle the 'crypto trade. The great difference in the use of electricity for instance. It's so very interesting!!
I still tell other people of the future blockchain has to offer, but I'm sorry to say I have the same experience quite often, people only think about money! Let them be, I stick with Steem!

Mom you are right, when you tell some people about something today, they only look at what it worth presently, without thinking of what it might be tomorrow. If it happen now to be a strike on the moon, they will all come and be asking silly question.

Yes people think about quick money. But i have mostly discussed steem/steemit with people and they still seem to have a hard time understanding. I think the potential money gain people can get from these investments is a huge attraction we shouldn't look down upon. I among many just don't have the brain to understand anything more than the basics of the technology. It have to be proven in the real world use before people realize what we are having here(including myself)

While that is said it's still so important to follow the word to mouth principle and spread the knowledge. Something I'm sure you already do @exyle.

I experience the same... now I am tired to defend or talk about... let them decide themselves.. I am happy Steem is in my life... but need to dose it a bit..

Always happy to know, it's not just me :)

@exyle

Yes, now that I am a new family, I love her and I love her. She is a steemit community. I am very pleased and give me the hope that I will come to my dream.

Yeah i have to admit i got abit frustrated last few weeks,
not because people call it a bubble, but because they just scream that word...
but when you ask them to explain they dont actualy know what there talking about...
i learned to let it go now tho, like exyle said... they will find out eventualy :)

Well said it brother steemian, we love Steemit in our life

True, this is because the mainstream media is talking about Bitcoin now... BBC published news as:
"The head of one of Britain's leading financial regulators has warned people to be ready to "lose all their money" if they invest in Bitcoin."

I feel this is good news, at-least every person is now familiar with bitcoin, and when they see the potential of crypto-currencies, they will ultimately get involved with it. I think cryto will replace fiat much sooner than expected.

@exyle,
Well said dude! I also avoid such nonsense and time wasting chit chats or arguments! Hey today I could found this group photo (first time I watched steem.io) I see you there :D At the steem fest 1!

Cheers~

@exyle,
You are in the front page of steem.io :D Congratz and I could see your friend too!

Cheers~

I fell the same:

"I no longer feel the need to debate."

I don't even tell anyone about it anymore, especially at work!

Glad to read more can relate.

DQmRKqQftyEPKzEeNpQgVjS4sgj4DYpHy9QzbNoZ4nTZNqm.jpg

I agree everyone has been preaching BTC will be dead any moment now since it began. The interesting thing though is that it won't. And here is the reason why excerpted from a Daily Analyisis I wrote.."Bitcoin is more than just a financial instrument, a commodity to be traded. It is a beacon of hope. Hope for the little man that they can finally be out from under the thumb of the financial institutions that have made it their business to profit off the backs of the common man. Be it fees, interest rates etc. Banks have for so long dictated the wealth structure in this country. In fact it is such now, that in order to have a "Knights Tail" type of story you will have to overcome many hurdles. The world is actually geared in such a way as to keep you at your current financial level. On the path to riches it seems as if it is 1 step forward 3 steps back.. Bitcoin changes this, it allows the common man the opportunity to leave his socioeconomic class and swim with the whales, if only for a moment.. Bitcoins power is in its ability to inspire, to allow people to dream bigger and possibly be more than they ever could have been otherwise... it's not going anywhere...

@pawsdog

Dude, this was cool, really good

Absolutely true!

I don't debate it either now. Like you, when I first got into it all I was an evangelist for crypto and also steemit. No-one really understood or even tried to understand. So now I am happy to leave it be and occasionally answer the odd question. Although i too get annoyed by the fast buck mentality of the questions being asked these days!

It's funny how more and more people feel this way :)

I'm noticing this too. When I get asked about bitcoin, its always about the money. Lots of people still can't quite wrap their heads around how much this is going to change the world. It can be a scary thing to think about. I don't force the education side of it on people, I just tell them to research it if they want to know how to buy it. I'm surprised that people we know are actually asking if they can give us money to invest in crypto FOR them. I can't in good conscience do that. I tell them that if they want to be able to make money from it, they need to understand it. It's not fast easy money. 🤔

It's not fast easy money

Debatable 😜
All kidding aside, I feel confident saying that within the next 10-20 years the amount of blockchains people interact with on a daily basis will increase exponentially. At the same time - a part of me hopes Bitcoin only has a small role in that. Compared to literally any other Crypto, BTC is a dinosaur.

Yep, at first they didnt care. Now its on MSM a lot, so the questions are starting to arise...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00