You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knives (handmade) 101 #4 Full Custom Build

in #life7 years ago

Thats a really pretty knife. I too, prefer carbon steel, but recently I actually worked with sandvik 12c27 on a project similar to this , in that it was custom build together with a customer. I actually managed to do a successful heat treat without an oven, but it was probably more luck than anything else. In the meantime I have bought an oven (because I needed it for investment casting) but it is fairly small so no more than 20 cm on the diagonal.

Sort:  

Thanks hippie,
LOL - I've tried that with D2 and wasn't lucky at all. I did get a nice batch of knife-like objects added to my wall of shame :)
20cm is a bit short for knives - did you buy it or make it?

I bought it. My dream is to buy an evenheat kf 49.5 extreme depth oven then I would be able to heattreat longswords in it. I dont really need that , since swords are always made from carbon steel so my present setup it adequate, but its still nice.

Hahaha, that's a reeeeeeeely big oven. Sure, it would be cool to have it but it is a bit of an overkill. Then again, if you really wanna super fine-tune the temper on your swords, something like this would be ideal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37