Walking the Tightrope of Life

in #life4 years ago

There are times when I wake up and forget what the world is like now. It happened just yesterday. I got up, dressed and began to head outside as if without a care in the world, when something felt funny. Feeling the wind on my bare face, I realized with mounting horror that I'd stepped out without an N95 facemask or my rubber gloves and goggles. Racing back inside gave me a chance to wash my hands and don my protective equipment.

Ever have something like that happen to you? It reminded me of September 2017 after I awoke from jet lag to find myself in a strange room. I got up, looked around thinking "where the heck am I?" Hearing German being spoken outside, I realized I was in my dorm room in Germany.

Sometimes it feels like a lucid dream that we now actually have to be aware of the very air we breathe and the things we touch. I don't think anything will ever be the same, but I do believe in the spirit of American ingenuity, that a way will be found to get us out of this horrible mess.

The situation with the meatpacking plants concerns me, as many people here don't prep at all. There almost seems to be a feeling that the government will somehow be able to provide endless resources, so there is little need to get ready on their own. People keep asking me where I got my masks from as they are all wearing homemade ones, if any at all. As soon as I saw what was happening in China, we went shopping, knowing it would just be a matter of time before the virus arrived here. Despite the naysayers, I'm glad that I did.

Toilet paper is back in some stores, and Target actually has hand sanitizer (1 per person, please). Aside from the cleaning supplies area, Walmart seems normally stocked for now. We need to be careful in this mad rush to reopen, because no matter what respite is forecast for the summer, the beast may very well return in the fall. However, I can't explain this feeling of optimism and the inner guidance that we will come out of this shade into a brighter and more aware future. For those of you looking for inspiration, read about the last days of the Spanish Flu. They got through it and so will we.

Thank You so Much!

Please follow me on:

👍Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat
👍Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/evernoticethat/
👍Hive: https://hive.blog/@evernoticethat

photo credit: 1


Please check out my recent posts:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70