My thoughts on Veganism, and challenges I encouter

in #life7 years ago

Are you like me, on the transitioning path from being a meat eater to being a #vegan?

Or maybe you're already 100% there?

For me it was a slow process, over about a year. Since I moved to Panama, I had already naturally decreased my meat consumption, just because meat is expensive and the quality was lacking sometimes. Slowly, I went from eating meat almost every day to only once a week, and then every couple of weeks...then no more red meat, only chicken and fish. Then only fish...now only eggs (from happy chickens!) and fish every once in a while. I know I will give up fish too, and just stick with eggs.

I stopped eating pork meat thanks to "Pepe", the small piglet that grew up on the farm where I live. He grew up with my dog and they became best buddies (they were about the same age, see photo here):

11223541_10156351858295355_8492687108909123258_n.jpg

11709746_10156351856670355_1193432240841384249_n.jpg

Unfortunately Pepe didn't survive New Years, and it broke my heart.

It wasn't always easy giving up meat...I remember moments where I was craving chicken wings. But guess what...chickens too can be good pets and are really affectionate when you take time to build a relationship with them.

11870900_10156454341045355_2717669100142873922_n.jpg

Once you start to awaken, or be #woke as some prefer to call it now, it is very hard to go back to eating meat. It's because once you've seen the horrors of the meat industry, you cannot un-see them. E.V.E.R. And once you know the reality, you cannot just stick your head in the sand and keep nibbling on your pork shops.

Today, I walk along the meat aisle in the supermarket, and all I can think of it "cadaver", a whole aisle full of dead body parts. It's gore. I can't even look anymore, I take the other aisle to get to where I need to go.

So my reason for making the dietary change is animal cruelty. I cannot live with myself knowing that I participate in it. I'm not a perfect vegan yet, but I'm sure that my change has made an impact of some sort. More of my friends are making the change now, so I'm not alone in this. Even though it's hard for my meat eater friends and parents to accept or understand this new lifestyle. I try explaining and always hope to convince more people too join me in the fight against #animalcruelty.

What was your reason for becoming a vegan or vegetarian?

Here's the video about my thoughts about veganism:

Sort:  

The Puppy reminds me of the commercial mmmm I smell bacon .lol

vegetarianism and vegan foods give more oxygen to our body and leads to a healthy wealthy life.

Whether you go plant-based or adopt a vegan lifestyle, know that you are on the right path towards making good decisions that affect your health, the environment, and the animals.

Withdraw your consent from animal agriculture by voting with your dollars.

From there, refine your lifestyle so that you are able to remain consistent with your choices and adapt for improvements as information becomes apparent.

Best Wishes
RPV

I totally agree with you, @redpillvegan! We're all voting with our dollars =)

I am a vegetarian too :) Considering going vegan.. but it's so hard giving up cheese :( I follow you! Follow me back? :)

Hi @laurasusannah, it's actually nt that hard depending on where you live. Where are you from? If you're in the US or Europe, you'll find plenty of cheese substitutes that look and taste like cheese =). I'm not so lucky here, since our options are extremely limited. So I have to either not have it at all or make my own vegan cheese. There are some good recipes online! Good luck and congrats on wanting to do his!

Agree with you. I am vegetarian for many years now. Before I avoided to think about how the meat is produced but at some point I could not avoid such questions anymore so the only proper way for me was vegetarianism. I would never kill any animal, I despise people who are cruel to animals and I do not want to have anything with such people. The fact is that no one can create a piece of meat without cruelty.

agreed...but the dairy industry is awful too. I was vegetarian before, but now I also cut out cheese, milk and yoghurt. I just found a great Tofu cream cheese which tastes awesome! =)

Loved your story! I've been on a similar path, though mine started with the diagnosis and eventual passing of my father of colorectal cancer. So health and preventative care was my initial catalyst to going organic. It took nearly two years before I've gone pescatarian and then vego, which lasted another 2 years. I've now been vegan for about 1 year and 100% share your overall sentiment. I believe there is a correlation between my level of empathy toward other beings and what I eat. I also get the same feeling walking down the isle of a supermarket! Sometimes I get emotional (not easy for a guy) as I only associate a life of suffering followed by a cruel and painful death. I feel veganism or a vegetarian lifestyle is also no longer simply an option, it's a must for humanity if we are to survive as a species. Thanks for your post!

thank you very much for your comment, and I'm sorry to hear about your dad. I think more and more people are changing the way they eat and think about meat as food. Let's cross fingers it happens sooner rather than later =)

Loved your story! I've been on a similar path, though mine started with the diagnosis and eventual passing of my father of colorectal cancer. So health and preventative care was my initial catalyst to going organic. It took nearly two years before I've gone pescatarian and then vego, which lasted another 2 years. I've now been vegan for about 1 year and 100% share your overall sentiment. I believe there is a correlation between my level of empathy toward other beings and what I eat. I also get the same feeling walking down the isle of a supermarket! Sometimes I get emotional (not easy for a guy) as I only associate a life of suffering followed by a cruel and painful death. I feel veganism or a vegetarian lifestyle is also no longer simply an option, it's a must for humanity if we are to survive as a species. Thanks for your post!

Loved your story! I've been on a similar path, though mine started with the diagnosis and eventual passing of my father of colorectal cancer. So health and preventative care was my initial catalyst to going organic. It took nearly two years before I've gone pescatarian and then vego, which lasted another 2 years. I've now been vegan for about 1 year and 100% share your overall sentiment. I believe there is a correlation between my level of empathy toward other beings and what I eat. I also get the same feeling walking down the isle of a supermarket! Sometimes I get emotional (not easy for a guy) as I only associate a life of suffering followed by a cruel and painful death. I feel veganism or a vegetarian lifestyle is also no longer simply an option, it's a must for humanity if we are to survive as a species. Thanks for your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59110.01
ETH 2990.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72