Mr. Window (An Original Poem)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Just call me
Mr. Window,
Ask me why?

You stare right
through me
with uncaring eyes,

Contingency threatens
to silence my heart,
but this is not
the hardest part,

The hardest part,
it seems to me,
is how you people
fail to see

With one misfortune,
your life slips by,
and you could
end up just as I

Without a home,
without a friend,
flirting with
a fateful end

If, God forbid,
misfortune visited today,
would you want to
be treated this way?

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


About This Poem

This poem harkens back to the late 80’s and is among the first pieces of poetry ever wrote in my teens. The form and word choice are so much different than something I would write now but I still like the message.

When I was younger I never understood how, in a world of such abundance, there could be so many people without access to basic human necessities. As I’ve become an adult I’ve come to understand more about the complexities of the problem of homelessness.

I've learned there are so many reasons why people end up on the street -- bad luck, abuse, a feeling of disconnect from modern society, mental illness, addiction...the list goes on. Many times hitting rock-bottom is the manifestation of much deeper issues.

I’ve always felt a deep connection with the the issue of homelessness. When I was younger my dad told us stories about how he would hitchhike back and forth between Ohio and the West coast (back in the 1950’s and 60’s when you could do it relatively safely.) He would be dropped off in a town where he didn’t know a soul and would need to find a place to sleep and food.

Sometimes, when he was completely out of money, he would take odd jobs or ask the local sheriff if he could sleep in a jail cell. He said back then most small town sheriffs would let him. One of the best meals he said he could ever remember in his entire life was one you might not expect. After not eating for a few days and finally getting paid for a handyman job my father said he went straight to a small grocery store and bought a loaf of bread, a package of bologna, and an onion and ate until he couldn’t anymore. I’m very lucky to say I’ve never had to experience this hunger or uncertainty in my entire life.

Every time I think about what my father went through and the issue of homelessness in general, my first world problems very quickly vanish into thin air. As my writing career grows I’m going to actively search for ways I can help and will do so anonymously.

Enjoy your weekend, Steemians! Don't forget to count your blessings and help others when you can.


*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and Steemit enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my poetry, autographed copies of my handmade poetry chapbooks, Emancipation, and The Greatest of Secrets are for sale now on Peerhub for a limited time.

Eric Vance Walton - Media

www.ericvancewalton.net

Steemit

Twitter

Facebook

Sort:  

good post!

Thank you! I appreciate it, @homeartpictures!

welcome bro*

Again, this poem fills one with one's deep humble humanity. Thank you, namaste :)

Thanks for reading and your comment, Eric!

Thank you for the book - I got it!!! 😁

You're very welcome! I hope you enjoy it!

I would promote this if I could! Such a powerful message. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @simplysara! I'm glad you made a connection with it!

A great piece, you were obviously a talented teenager.

Thanks, I had so much more time on my hands back then!

bra inläg thanks

I have always felt that same compassion, your poem is the essence of an essay I wrote in high school :) It is amazing how silly first problems are in light of issues such as these. I do my best to remind myself of things of this nature, I even set up a daily reflection at one point, but somehow I'll still find myself caught up in silly worries, only later shaking my head at the pettiness in comparison.
Thanks for posting this, it's a necessary reminder :)

Yes, these kinds of issues really put things into perspective. I try to remember how lucky I am when I'm having a rough day. It's difficult to remember when you're caught up in the current of life. I use the gratitude mantra I wrote about last week and most often it'll snap me back into focus. You're welcome! Thank you!

Good work as always my friend.

Thanks, Scott! I've really enjoyed your last few. Can't wait for the book to come out! Please put me down for a copy.

Thanks buddy!

Beautiful poem and incredible story about your Dad hitchhiking. My Dad had a similar experience criss-crossing the US back in the 60's. Today I wish people would be a bit more naturally trusting of those who we don't immediately know or understand. The world would be a healthier, more empathetic environment to share and explore.

Much appreciated @voronoi! I agree with you, I wish people were more open these days too. I felt more of that in Europe when we were there for SteemFest. I still believe a majority of people around the world are good but I blame some of the distrust on the mainstream media and their fear-mongering. Thanks for your comment!

Well said my friend. The poem gets the point across and I liked the written piece afterwards, and your desire to help in some way. I was homeless for a while myself after my motorcycle accident, I slept in a cemetery for a while. There were no soup kitchens or the like where I was at that time so things were tough. I was fortunate enough that I reached out to an organisation for ex servicemen and they helped me get into a small apartment, very basic but I sure as hell wasn't complaining.
I too find it sad that in a world of such opulence it is easy to find so many without even the basics.

Thanks for sharing @ericvancewalton

Thanks @handsolo! Sorry to hear you had to go through that period in your life and I'm glad you found assistance and bounced back. Most of us in the U.S. are just one major illness or hospitalization from bankruptcy. There has to be a way to make this world not such a difficult place. Communities like this are a good beginning. Thanks for sharing a part of your life with us. Take care, man!

There has to be a way to make this world not such a difficult place.
This is so true man! Yeah, I hear you, the medical system over there is a bit nuts right?
Thank you for sharing @ericvancewalton :D

You're welcome, thanks for your thoughtful comments @handsolo! Take care, man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00