I WAS BORN IN THE LAST CENTURY

in #life7 years ago (edited)

familienfoto.jpg

While searching for a collage I made some months ago and which I want to publish, I checked my websites and the media library and found instead this very old photograph.

Believe it or not - it shows part of my family.

It's taken in Russia/Estonia - Guess, it must have been around 1968 or so.

From left to right:

  • far left you can see my oldest brother - born twelve years before I was born
  • next to him my father, then my mother
  • the adults on the right side of the picture I cannot identify
  • in the front there are my other three brothers - the twins and the second oldest

Who is missing?

My sister and me.
Her, because of no known reason
Me, because I wasn't yet born at that time (I entered earth 1970)

In the first four years of my life I grew up on a farm.

My parents were hard workers and most of their lives self-sufficient.
In Germany they still maintained a huge garden - everything what you can imagine eatable grew there.

We are so called "Russian-Germans",

because my ancestors are Germans who went to Russia to have a better life. "Katharina, die Große", who married the Russian Zar, invited the Germans to create a new existence over there. My grand dad had a mill. We had a good life until the revolution. Then a long journey of Expulsion and Escape began. I asked my mother a lot of times about that.

I see my parents both in motion.

I inhale the scents that blow up from the kitchen. I smell pickled cucumbers, fresh dill.

Pepper and mustard seeds. I see them puffing up the stairs after they come out of the sauna. Which my father built himself in the basement. He long is gone. My mother died last year.

That was just a little excursion - I felt, this finding shouldn't go unmentioned.

See, if I can find more pictures and "stories". When you like to hear more, let me know.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

As it's difficult to connect: I want to thank you, @shaka to upvote my posts regularly.

Thanks to Steemistry I was notified about your mention. You´re welcome :)

"As it's difficult to connect:"
Solution: You could transfer 0.001 SBD and put the text into the memo. Sure this notification will reach its aim. ;)

@laylahsophia: you're the best! Yes, I will do that. klatschmitderhandaufdiestirn:-)

Nice... I was born in the first half of the last century... In fact I was born during WWII

I've heard many things of WWII: horrible stuff from my aunt - my mother though didn't talk about it that way. She had the talent to guide through every story as if it was an adventure. She often made me laugh - I am sure she didn't want us children to pity her. That never will go away, the art of talking. Both of them - father and mother - were great talkers. I stuck to their lips when they were in the mood of storytelling. Now my brother is continuing this tradition.

Sure you felt the impact of war in one way or another.

Yes... I lived with my uncle for a few years. He took care of me... he had shell shock- what they used to call PTSD.

you mean a war neuroses? Well, I think of war as it stretches its influence over several generations. The one who directly felt the horror and impact and then the children, the grand children and so on. ... It takes a long time all the bad is wiped out. I've heard that it involves seven generations to overcome it totally.

... What happened to your parents, may I ask?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63475.87
ETH 3121.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87