Scattered Happenings of November

in #life6 years ago

Busy bodies in November. Hello!

Just a few updates here. I'm still around reading things, just everything around me appears to be exploding. Yes, that's an exaggeration obviously. When things decide to get busy, they seem to get busy at the same time. It's as if the universe has a superlinear stake weighted system to decide when to make things "interesting".... Whop that was probably a flop.

I'll have to catch up on SteemFest talks. Since the last time, I recognize so many more people and it is so exciting to see them in talks and mingling.

One thing I did manage is to finish is the trilogy I started with the Three Body Problem, which is called Remembrance of Earth's Past. I'm not much of a reader but I will anyway give my impression. It's mindbendingly good. You get the same things I discussed when talking about Three Body Problem on a completely different scale. One of the things that bothered me was that there were times where I question the predictions of what the author thinks humanity would do in various situations. But maybe I'm naïve. And as mentioned by the comments, still very much a Civilization (the video game) tech tree thing going on. Heck maybe they'll make a 3body flavor of interstellar Civilization one day haha... A time bending adventure.

Other than that, I've been playing around with a prototype that allows a modification of the STEEM keychain to integrate with a steemit.com condenser. The fun part about this is that after such a change it doesn't matter who hosts a condenser, as the STEEM keychain would show you the operations you are approving. Probably the security model isn't perfect here even if you trust the key chain (mainly due to the habit of whitelisting). Don't want to really make too much of a big deal about this because this is a slow side project.

  • Who is using the STEEM keychain? If you happen to see this and you do use it I would be curious to know!

The crazy stuff is just related to the non STEEM world. Work and life. Won't elaborate much here for now.

Until next time!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

cool stuff! :) i'm not knowledgeable enough in this to say much. but would this prototype eventually come down to ui so simple that 'normies' can download and use without even being aware of the blockchain or steemit.com?

You know, I think it's possible to make it a standalone browser app, not certain. But it won't remove the need to understand the voting mechanisms. After all, this is really just steemit.com with browser extension that does not give up your private keys. And so you also have to understand what the extension is about.

i see. thanks! 😁

I use Steem Keychain and also think that the whitelisting is a bit too general. If I don't whitelist, I get annoying popups all the time, even 3 times for the same action sometimes. But if I do whitelist it, it's not easy to un-whitelist it or to know what actions it's approving. I only use it on trusted websites anyway, Steem Monsters and Peak Monsters. I feel less comfortable even if it behaves similarly to the Steemconnect offline approval (but that one is easy to revoke and to see a list of approved websites).

Check out porting to Smoke that someone made to the keychain: https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@hodlorbust/smoke-keychain-chrome-extension-1541622211290

Haha neat. Yeah you would want a flexible whitelisting like the scatter EOS extension. Actually right now I think it does differentiate between various action types. (Although custom json might be lumped together). So partially it's about my modification which opens up an entire generic broadcast send. I would need to implement selective whitelisting for that.

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.807 which ranks you at #1340 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 1350).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 270 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63