How many?

in #life6 years ago

I just wanted to share what I thought was a funny remark. So my wife likes to play a particular rhythm game. Not really sure I can really call it a game actually... It's four syllables, and it's a chant. These are all in Chinese (primary communication channel is Chinglish). The favorite is when we are chasing Opal.

Oh... Bao... Li Li!!

Oh... Bao... Li Li!!

That's when Opal knows to hide. Too bad there are no options for that muahaha.

And then there's a chant that's directed at me.

Jee... Guh... Ai Ai!? (幾個愛愛?)

Ohhhhhh no. Literally translated that chant means "how many love love (units of love)". Depending on my mood I'll shoot fairly high, around 50,000, or 30,000. I think I said something like 500,000. Can be as low as 3. Just the other day on the high she was like

"Wow?!! So many??? What happened?"

Yeah she probably shouldn't trust my mood meter, at this point I'm not even sure what my numbers mean. But then...

"That's like Bitcoin love"

Yup. You heard that right. Bitcoin love. My love units are more volatile than Bitcoin (and have you seen the volatility lately?) Hmm... I guess I should be more amused that she mentioned Bitcoin at all.

Another tid bit that's funny too, while I'm here. Apparently some horoscopes she listens to think Bitcoin is going to have a great next few years. This is clearly not financial advice. Something amusing anywho.

(PS. We play this game with hate units too. I usually leave a unit or so around.)

My musing for the day. Cheers!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

<333 I loved this anecdote. Thank you for sharing this. :)

What does the "Oh... Bao... Li Li!!" mean?

And was the measures of love like, how much it is worth in dollars? Haha, or how many "love" there are?

Do you usually say smaller numbers for hate?

Opal = Oh bao (chinese-ified)

Uh. I think the love units are priceless ;P

And yeah, smaller numbers for hate. love downvotes.

What is the "li li"?

that doesn't mean anything. like a diminuitive.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

......................................................................................................................
Wishing you a ghoulish Hallowe'en. Hope you get lots of treats tonight!
......................................................................................................................

Oh I can imagine oh bao opal hiding

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.759 which ranks you at #1399 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 20 places in the last three days (old rank 1379).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 490 contributions, your post is ranked at #106.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81