All's Quiet... Or not.

in #life5 years ago

If the Steem life is in its own little bubble from reality, and my life on steem an even tinier bubble within that bubble, then I'm so far removed from reality that I have no idea what's real.

That is, if my entire life was my life on Steem.

But you know what, in recent times I would probably say that's where most of my spare time is going. Well at any rate it's competing with family time, otherwise I dare say I'd be long gone from reality as soon as I step out of work.

(But that's sort of already true.)

There's rather two parts to this. The first is actually social. You know, talking to people whether here or off the chain. And that's been fun. The second is hobby tinkering, where I code what little things I can do with the given time. Which is also fun.

But then there's real life tinkering. Fixing a printer, rearranging the furniture and such... A raspberry pi.... I'm too easily distracted, how do people organize stuff?

Funny how we use bubbles to describe echo chambers and large bubbles that burst for e.g. crypto.

I was going to comment on how quiet it was, but while drafting this (it's been in the can for a couple days now) I've been watching from within my bubble^2 to some crazy drama where nothing actually happened. Ok that's a gross exaggeration because significant funds did end up getting shuffled around. But nothing about the underlying situation has really changed, it's just that information and transparency was lacking. Watching to see if more information comes....

And that's my ramble for the moment. I should make a Venn diagram of the bubbles. Mutters to self.

Oh and has anyone actually done verification for magic dice yet, anyone know? @meno

I wanted to propose my new dapp idea called Evil Dice. Maybe that can be its own post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I can fully relate to your thoughts on distraction, Steem by far is my favourite distraction from the slightly tedious and mundane day to day life I trudge through. I'm a tinkerer as well, I really can't just replace something that stops working - I have to take it apart and fix it - sometimes things work after I do it as well! My 2013 MacBook Air keyboard developed a sticky D key last August, then it stopped working, then the E and R keys. Which made it entirely useless - I lasted until Christmas with a bluetooth keyboard but it's not really practical with a laptop - so I got and ebay special replacement keyboard for a reasonable £18 UK pound ($23) and replaced it myself. Aside from the millions of tiny screws needed to be removed to pull out all the insides (battery, fan, io board, motherboard, speakers) - including all the tiny screws around the keyboard - I got so close and then trying to remove the original keyboard found it was pinned in place with little rivets all round the central part of the keyboard. After puzzling for a while as they had no head so could not be unscrewed - I decided the old keyboard didn't work any way so I just ripped the thing out pinging the little rivets all over while at it (did I mention my favourite tool is a hammer?) Anyway by some miracle putting everything back in it all works fine with the new cheap replacement keyboard, and cleaning all the dust from the fan and cpu cooler grill means it now runs 20 degree cooler - which doubled battery life because the fan hardly has to work! Of course blind luck, I could have easily destroyed it completely or damaged one of the many fragile zif cables.

Now you mention it I had this crazy idea about magic evil mice, they are like a normal computer mouse but when you put your hand on it - magically it warps to a different area of the desk. How the winter nights would fly by as you chase your cursor moving device around the desk!

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Wow that's always satisfying. I had the experience of trying to repair a phone screen and failing miserably. I didn't have a hot enough heat source to cleanly remove the shattered glass and I broke the digitizer. Now it's like... Things like trying to renew the seasoning of a cast iron pan among other things.

I bet cleaning out the fan was very satisfying too, I can definitely imagine that running hot.

Your Evil mice sounds terrifying... Come to think of it, I use a track pad. Problem solved. Or is it.... Maybe it can start disorientation too where when you go up it goes left haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

All I not lost @eonwarped . @blanchy is still here like the violinist on the Titanic . The Steemit world is safe for another day . Haaza!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you thank you, @eonwarped is here too! Like the... Uh... Tesla vehicle in outer space???

Posted using Partiko Android

I see what your saying and I believe that some willing to power down with some kind of fear of missing out a possible up turn movement are in the same statistics as the magic dice. I read this post from @themarkymark and found it interesting. You might go and check it out.

Ooh that is interesting indeed, seems the timing is similar. Thanks! I will be interested in the comprehensive analysis because I think someone sneaky could satisfy fairness for all but sneaky cases and still appear fair...

Posted using Partiko Android

Go for it I will also wait for the results in a future post.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm interested to find out what Evil Dice is :)

Simply put: adversarial dice that string you along until you go for a big one and then it decides that moment to steal all your money :). Oh I guess that didn't need an extra post after all...

Posted using Partiko Android

And it would also taunt the user too. Some very demoralizing to the point of humorous lines. And other interesting lines during other times lined with hope. Ah... I'm sure we can make it truly evil with a bit more thought too hmm....

Posted using Partiko Android

Dude, I like it, let's do it

Posted using Partiko Android

A bubble within a bubble. Thats some Steemception right there. :D

You were thinking it. I was thinking it. I'm glad someone said it ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

I've been so out of the bubble for a while that I don't even know what magic dice is lol

Don't touch the dice!!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

As usual Evan rambling his own bubble and in your cute little way. :)

I totally admire you for sticking around and still looking forward to reading more of your quirkiness.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @eonwarped!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.815 which ranks you at #1340 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1342).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 274 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99