The 5$ that shattered my world.. And how it changed how I see steemit.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

This morning I woke up in the starbucks parking lot ready to start the day. Wondering what I'd write on.
Some eloquent piece on the intricacies of nature?
The existential burden of living in the first world?
How about the state of unsustainability in the world?

I threw on my audiobook of Life Principals by Ray Dalio, the revolutionary founder of Bridgewater investment firm to drown out the thoughts. I wasn't ready to handle this yet. Out of bagels, and not feeling like making the mess of cooking pancakes on my dual burner coleman propane stove in the parking lot. I just decided to mix up a peanut butter protein shake to make due and push myself further in the day.

I heard a feint "hey" in the background.
Disregarding it not suspecting it to be targeted at me, I continued actually spilling most of my protein powder on the ground clumsily.
Then I heard it again and saw a car roll forward in my peripheral vision.

An older chinese woman was hanging out the window of the car, looking at me.
The first question that popped in my mind, is she having car trouble?
What can I help with?

I walked over to her, and by the time I took two steps to her car window and removed an ear bud, looking at her worriedly trying to piece it together. She extended her hand, with a 5$ bill in it.

I had .1 seconds to decide whether to allow this woman to do what she felt was right, or stand proud and not accept this compassionate act.

I saw 2 cars pile behind hers, as she glanced in the rear view mirror, and thank you came across my lips before she moved along into the drive through to start her day. Tears came to my eyes. I'm able, and doing my best to sustain myself. From content creating on steem in multiple ways, to side business' the hustle has been real. And I've had many opportunities to make large sums, that did not fit my ethics.

My pride was partially shattered. I've chosen to stick to my heart to try and bring quality to the world, and let my work be an extension of myself. And this is where I am. I am thankful, I've met so many throughout my journies that would see it as divine grace to have my set up in life, and opportunities. I have never, and will never take government benefits, as thats merely footing a bill to my children of the future to pay. There is nothing free.

I'm not sure of the costs of accepting that 5$. But it was like accepting a mirror, of how the world sees me now.

And that's okay to me. In the bigger picture I'm not a charity case. I'm where I am because I know I can build out no matter, some options have a higher moral toll than others. And my financial evolution is slower than it could be because of that. But an unexpected bill recently definitely hit me in the perspective. A 550$ registration cost because that's what the DMV says they deserve before sending out my plates, on top of a 80$ parking ticket I got a few weeks back.

I put myself in the position I'm in to build myself to be able to better be of service to the chaotic world we live in. And where my means may currently seem low, and comfort may be as well. My spirits are higher than ever, and growth is laden in every day. I'm grateful.

So.. Looking at this 5$ bill.. I had to decide what to do with it.. I'll let the pictures tell a story larger than I can. What can we really do with this?


A delectible hot lunch?

Tempting.. That's like at least 10x on the marry go round



I could probably get at least the first few pages..

A bag of snacks?

Could probably negotiate for at least the leg of one of the plush monkies to keep me company...


in the end

The reality is. The biggest investment we can make is in ourselves. That's what this whole journey is about.
A limitless creator was fueled for about for about 5 more mornings. I was planning on sharing the bounties of this compassionate act with someone else that could use it, but I'd seen about 10 cop cars that morning. I doubt anyone found homeless isn't tolerated for long in this concrete jungle.

But as I sat there.. Enjoying my pastry, I looked at the receipt and realized.. That's about the value of 1 SBD for now.


Who's life can your upvote change?
Have a say. Because this post is 100% power up.

Learn why I started this journey here:

https://steemit.com/life/@enterthespectrum/is-any-way-we-live-effective-let-s-find-out-loading-the-new-transcendence-challenge-car-living-adventure-flinging-vlog-singing

Sort:  

You should not do 100% power up posts while the price of SBD is trading above $1 USD.

If SBD is trading for $4 USD, you can wait until you get your post rewards and take the SBD and buy STEEM with it. You will get 4x as much STEEM.

You could even buy STEEM and power up with half, cash out the other half, and still have more SP in end than if you did 100% power up.

Why?
I thought 100% power up gets the same worth but fully in STEEM instead of partially in STEEM and partially in SBD.
Do you mean that there is difference between the options as soon as the moment of payout?

The blockchain assumes SBD is worth $1 USD.

Does it mean that it makes it more beneficial for authors to self upvote immediately due to a higher bias for author rewards which increase the post's total SBD share and by doing so increasing its overall value?

I am not sure.

This comment has received a 42.74 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

And how does it derive its STEEM value?

It uses the 3.5 day median price as reported via the witnesses price feeds.

Median over all witnesses, or just the top 20 or top 50?
And by the time of reward, which time's median price feed does it use?

The 20 top witness plus one randomly chosen backup witness will make up the price feed sample for the current round. The median is taken across those 21 witnesses.

I am 95% sure that the price at the time of payout is the median of those medians across the past 3.5 days.

This comment has received a 20.92 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @stimialiti. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

Didn't know this.. :o I knew the conversion was slightly off.
I didn't know, however that it was converted always at 1$ vs steem..
Crazy! But that's okay.
:) I have learned and am thankful for your support with wisdom, and upvote! Together we shall grow. As steemians!

keep grinding bro, I know how you feel. try to save some if you want to go to lamboland.

Am saving as much as I can! :) building my profile is more important than eating other than PB&J's..
That's my belief in this platform. @Stray I appreciate the support and always is interesting in steemspeak :)

In an odd transition finding a niche for content.. but my friend and I just brainstormed some great ideas..

New series coming soon ;)

I love how you have the $5.00 bill in front of what you might have bought lol throughout entire store.
Concrete Jungle is a term I use a lot .

Yup, the things we do just because of money.

Lovely post mate. I was going to mention the flaw of 100% power up as well but someone has already mentioned that. I made the same mistake a while back.

I haven’t read your post explaining about why you’re living in a car yet but will read it shortly. I just wanted to say that I loved this post and that you’ve earned yourself another follower.

@mazzle thank you my friend! :)
tl;dr on my post.. I'm doing it for SCIENCE! lol

You got my eyes wet man..i have upvoted ans resteemed your post though my account is not much valued but i pray you get the best in life..it shall be well

O:) all unfolds as it should.. I do what I can.

bagaimana cara nya mister biar banyak dapat vote

upvoted nice man! this is great to do POV dollar journey
keep making posts! post your sacremento community account idea to pool resources, i know it will get upvotes!
i resteemed, maybe @papa-peppers @stellebella @instructor2121 @thejohalfiles and @neoxianmight like this inspiring post!

one day steem will pay for your RV to promotesteem with across the country

It's definitely given me some ideas to expand upon, excited for the coming year and my steemit journey !

Most of the things we do in order to bring money

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99