You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aikido - A metaphor for life

in #life5 years ago

Thanks for responding to my comment. Actually Tong Long and Praying Mantis are the same, Tong Long is the Chinese words for praying mantis, just thought I’dlet you know! My old friend, neighbour and landlord has started doing Aikido this last year but recently broke his collarbone falling from his motor cycle so he is having a break while it heals. I might go to his dojo one day when he’s back and check out the classes.

Sort:  

Got it! I'm interested in learning more about these various styles but don't know where to start. Looking at Shaolin Kung Fu makes me enthusiastic as well.

I definitely recommend checking out your neighbor's classes! Aikido is whatever you want it to be, assertive or more observant - there's something in it for everybody.

Yes I am hoping to get the chance to check out his classes, especially the ones designed for older people as they are more gentle. I think there is a lot of rolling on the ground which I would find a bit of a challenging, but I guess it’s useful to learn to fall well, so as not to hurt oneself.
As for checking out other styles, I guess the best way would be to visit some classes in a dojo close to you. There is a mixed martial arts style that uses techniques from lots of different styles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70979.31
ETH 3711.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79