You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tricks that "Sell Us" on the Idea that Christmas = Consumerism

in #life7 years ago

@thecryptofiend I freaking agree to everything you pointed out up there.

Too many gimmicks to make us buy, buy, buy making one's self poorer and the seller - commercial companies richer. bah!
I don't usually go with the flow so for 17 years already I haven't. I celebrate Christmas everyday, if I'm going to give - it's cause I want to not because some unknown person decided - a certain day to do that.

It's been too commercialized - the real meaning of giving has been buried with more of - forced ritual of exchanging gifts and going gaga about what to eat - and being surprise you've gain weight? Though I love the lights and the other "decorative" galore that goes with it - the idea of buying things to cope up with the Jones' sort'a clouded the many I notice - as I watch some of the people near me - go gaga every year when this month comes.

And oh about the lights - why can't we have them all darker days long? I love them flickering here and there - though I can't imagine the toll it would ask the environment to pay for all of it.

And the carols - why can't we have them whenever we feel like singin them - okay maybe it's me but I'm with you that there's too much of those BUY BUY BUY campaign going on - masking the true spirit of Christmas.

So, before I sound like ranting or already have :D wisdom overload post as always, thank you! You're really a writing guru !

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words. It is a great philosophy to have to celebrate every day I think. Also I love the Futurama gif too:) Thank you for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62914.22
ETH 3108.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88