You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things aren't always what they seem to be... (part 2)

in #life6 years ago

Well, I'm glad you finally landed. I can't say Michigan would have been my choice of a home, but if it works for you guys, great. @goldendawne seems to love it. Personally I love New Mexico ... and the desert. Arizona is a little too politically conservative for me, but they do have some beautiful country in the northern part of the state. If I were going to live anywhere other than New Mexico, I'd check out places around Sedona and Prescott and Flagstaff for sure.

I'm sorry life has been so challenging. Personally, I'm glad you're not in Costa Rica. Those Latin American countries worry me, honestly. But ... maybe that's my unwarranted prejudice. Plus -- I just hate to travel. Sounds like you've had enough of that to suit you, too, for a while.

I hope Life starts treating you more kindly now. Are you in any kind of better place -- geographically, psychologically, emotionally -- than when you started out ... with a home and a job and all that non-hippie shit? Just wondering. (Wising up sometimes takes a lot of unforeseen effort.) What do you plan to do from here?

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

Michigan is definitely not where I saw myself going either. Its funny how things happen sometimes. I honestly don't plan on being there more than a year or two, its more of a stepping stone than anything. We bought a beautiful old Victorian home that I plan on flipping over the next year so that should take up a lot of my time and set us up financially for our next round of adventures. :)
I also loved Sadona, it is so beautiful there but it would be to hot for me in the summers and my fiance couldn't handle the dryness there, she was getting bloody noses twice a day for months (when we lived in that area) and her skin was drying out to the point of it being painful so unfortunately AZ was out.
Life definitely has been challenging lately but I am taking it all as a learning process, and life lessons are not cheap or easy lol. I was so caught up in leaving america that I forgot why its so great here. I think a lot of it was due to PTSD issues and deep down I felt like I could run away from my problems (which obviously doesn't work).
I am in a much better place (psychologically and emotionally) now that we have found a home and can move in on may 11th. Not having a home was so much more stressful than I remember it being when I was younger and apparently more carefree! ha.. I know I love the midwest so geographically this place will do for now.
In any case I am not upset I ended up here, I really needed a life change and I definitely got that over the past 5 months. I really appreciate all the support from you, sorry I disappeared for so long without saying anything I know that was shitty of me. I have a bunch of excuses as to why I did it, but like my dad has always said "excuses are like assholes, we all got them and they all stink!" LoL So thank you so much for the warm welcome back :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45