You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why are Men Allowed to Walk Around Topless and Not Women?

in #life6 years ago

Very thought-provoking article. (Ironically, a topic I was thinking about within the last couple of days.) I'll have more to say about it when I get some sleep. Stay tuned.

Sort:  

I will look forward to hearing more of your thoughts on this. I was originally only going to share the first image and a comment or two, but the words just came.

I've sure wondered about this very thing. Why is it our responsibility to cover up and not their responsibility to control themselves. Just as in an abusive relationship, why is it the woman's responsibility "not to provoke him" (an impossible challenge) and not his responsibility to control his anger! A therapist will tell you of course that's exactly what it is ... his responsibility.

Anyway ... The Weasel and I had a bit of a discussion about this after I read it. It brought up the question ... you said, "What if a flat-chested woman and a man with moobs walked down the street topless? Which would be told to cover up for "decency's sake?"

Well, I'll take it one further. What if a woman with a double mastectomy walked out in public topless? So if there are no boobs to consider ... is this an arbitrary law against women? Which then makes the whole concept all the more offensive.

Interesting question.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65673.10
ETH 2625.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66