Meet My Hairless Dogs Henri and Oliver: Chinese Crested/Pomeranian MixsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I don’t know what I was thinking getting hairless dogs in when live I in Chicago. I guess I really didn’t think about it! I was scrolling through adoptable dogs in the “mixed breed category” and came across Oliver's picture. I thought he was so strange looking that I was immediately obsessed. No one wanted him or his brother. All of his siblings already had homes. I went to pick up Oliver a couple days later. I met Henri too but we decided originally on getting 1 dog. 

Oliver’s Baby Picture

After a week we decided to go back and get Henri too. He was too cute to leave behind….



They were happy to be reunited with one another once we brought Henri home...

They are hairless on their bodies but have hair on their heads, legs/paws and tail.

I really didn't think much about it until I realized that winter in Chicago sucks!

My backyard in winter:

So since they hate winter…. they spend most of their time bundled up or lying in front of a space heater!

And when the air is dry in the house...their hair stands up because of static electricity!

When we leave the house they have to wear sweaters, coats and boots!

But…..I love them anyways! They are now 8 years old and I can't imagine my life without them!

If you have a pet i'd love to see it below!

Thanks for reading :)

-Emily



Sort:  

Hey there, super cute dogs you have there. I know they were rescues but did you ever find out what breed they may be? I've never heard of hairless dogs.

I'm also in Chicago, have a couple dogs of my own...

bam1.png

bam2.png

bam3.png

bam4.png

Your dogs are super adorable! My dogs are half Chinese crested and half Pomeranian mixes :) they carry the hairless gene but they are only 7lbs, purebred Chinese cresteds weigh double.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:11:31
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 67851.90
ETH 2487.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51