You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THOUGHT PROVOKING: THE BEGINNING!

in #life7 years ago

I cut out watching the news and reading the paper a little over a year ago. I was fed up with the rerunning of the same stories repeatedly. The media was portraying a world of fear and hate. I saw the impact it was having on the kids on my debate team. Many of the students were worried about the future.

Yet, at the debate tournaments I was witnessing a diverse group of high school debaters mingling, laughing, and engaging in rigorous academic activity, on the weekends. The positive energy swirls in the air, invigorating all that breath it in. I witnessed a community of teenager, debating timely topics, in a respectful manner. They dive deep into issues that many adults look at superficially.

Yet, positive news and events are overlooked or mentioned in passing. I see a lot of love and kindness in the world. I also recognize there is hatred and violence in the world. But continually looping the events in the news cycle doesn’t help us solve the problem. I tell my kids that their voice matters and that they can create change when they work together.

Many of the debaters have rallied and challenged the school committee on issues that impact them and their community. They are using the skills they gain to make positive changes in the world around them.

Much of what you wrote rings true to me. I look forward to reading your posts and continuing my growth.

Sort:  

" I tell my kids that their voice matters and that they can create change when they work together." Inspirational, one of my biggest struggles is explaining to those around me that we are all capable of making a difference, the change must start within. I get laughed at for my decisions and views, too many people around me are stuck in the mindset of "one person can't make a difference" they are wrong. Together we will change the world, we each have more power than what we've been led to believe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34