Blog: Lets talk Mental Health (TWLOA)

in #life7 years ago

So, let's do it! Let's talk more openly and honestly about mental health.

Almost 2 weeks ago now, I went to my doctor as I was having frequent migraines which I haven't had in years. When getting there, my GP asked how things were going in my personal and work life where I then broke down in tears. It was only then that I realised that I was struggling with many aspects of my life. I had chosen not to speak about these as I didn't think it was important and let it build up and up until this moment. My GP then signed me off work for 2 weeks and told me to exercise, relax and take some time for myself. Medication was also discussed, however I said that I would see how the 2 weeks went without the medication and discuss the possibility of this on my review.

I'm currently on my 2nd week off work and I have to say, being away from work has helped, however it has also given me more time to think about myself which, in some ways, hasn't helped. I get so lost in my brain sometimes, thinking about me and the things I haven't done or achieved that I get lost and can't get out of it - whereas when I'm at work, there's that distraction.

As I have said before, mental health and the struggled with it, is not spoken about enough. I can panic on a daily basis about peoples reactions, to the point it stops me from having any kind of conversation with a person and resorts to me finding places to be alone so I don't have to worry about every aspect of a conversation. This has got so much better recently but I do feel myself sometimes slipping back into my old ways. One thing that is getting me through this particular phase, is the following book ...

Photo on 27-07-2017 at 22.13.jpg

"If you feel too much" by Jamie Tworkowski is a collection of stories about other people that struggle with their mental health and the things that helped them through it. It's a book that invites other people to know that it's okay to suffer with anxiety, it's okay to suffer with depression, it's okay to suffer with PTSD ... and it's especially okay to ask for help.

Jamie Tworkowski is the founder of a charity called To Write Love On her Arms (TWLOA) which is "a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression, addiction, self-injury, and suicide". This charity, the original story and the message behind it has helped me over the years to know that I am not the only one having these issues.

If you're interested in knowing more about the TWLOA foundation, I'll leave the link to the website below:

https://twloha.com

If you are interested, the book mentioned is sold on the above website and all profits would then go to the TWLOA foundation.

If any Steemians out there are struggling with any of the above and want someone to talk too, I would be more than happy to sit and listen - just feel free to leave a comment below :) .

Until next time, happy Steeming! x

Sort:  

Congratulations @ellielouise! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ellielouise! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77