More Homemade Furniture

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Side Table

Article #18, Published June 30, 2017 by Elijah Wasson

A quote for the read:

"When you’re a carpenter making a beautiful chest of drawers, you’re not going to use a piece of plywood on the back, even though it faces the wall and nobody will ever see it. You’ll know it’s there, so you’re going to use a beautiful piece of wood on the back. For you to sleep well at night, the aesthetic, the quality, has to be carried all the way through."
— Steve Jobs

Today I finished another homemade table, only this time it’s a side table, not a coffee table. I used more old and weathered wood to add a rustic style to it. If you didn’t see my previous post about the coffee table I built, here’s the link.

I got the inspiration to make this because while I was out collecting some more old barn wood from an old chicken coop, I came across a piece that was already all put together, which is what you see as the table top. From there most of it is just some old fence boards. I’m thinking about trying to sell it but it just looks so awesome that I want to keep it! It’s going to be a tough decision to make…

This side table includes a bottom shelf and a drawer. Everyone said the drawer would be hard, but I proved them wrong! I didn’t really come into any problems while creating the drawer. This is my first carpentry project that I made up as-I-went from my imagination. Don’t mean to brag, but I think it turned out pretty good! :)

Drawer

If you want a better look at it, here’s kind of a cool thing I made. Just click and drag on the photo when you get there. Have fun!



User Profile

I'm a 16-year-old junior in high school. I've figured out that Steemit is a great way to express my feelings about certain topics and get paid for it! I like to start all my articles with a quote to get the reader to understand the 'feeling' of the article before they start reading it.

See more of my posts here!

Sort:  

Love the quote by Jobs. I feel the same way. Good work man!

Really cool. I wish I would have paid better attention in wood working class. I have so much respect for people who create beautiful things like this.

Awesome job! If I could ever get a good wood shop going again, you and I could build some really cool stuff. I know a guy here in Washington who makes rustic furniture and home decor like that and made $20,000 last year selling his work at different shows. Not bad money for a side hobby.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52