I Built My First Piece of Furniture

in #carpentry7 years ago (edited)

Coffee table

Article #12, Published June 13, 2017 by Eli Wasson

A quote for the read:

"My father was very much a handy person round the house, and I learnt a lot of carpentry from him."
— John Henry Carver

This morning, after two days, I finally finished building a rustic-style coffee table! I really wanted to build something using old barn wood, so this past weekend while I was out at my mom's house, I stole two wood boards out of the inside of her barn (don't worry, they were necessary to the building's structure). They were the perfect width and length for a coffee table. I took them off the wall of the barn and hauled them over in the back of my Ford Ranger (read that story here.)

The next day I started planning out how to build it. I took some pieces from here and there: the sides and legs are all from an old porch swing and the bottom shelf are two old fence boards put together. You mix it all together and voilà! It soon becomes an old wooden coffee table.

Barn wood

Here’s a better view of the old barn wood I used.


Top view

The top of the coffee table and also another look at the barn wood.


Side view

You can see the sides where I used the porch swing backrest.


Coffee table

So what do you think? Do you like it or do you think I should change something? I'll probably end up cutting the legs down a couple inches because it’s a bit taller than the couch cushions and we like to put our feet up. Also, I might put a horseshoe on each side. It looks pretty cool like that.

Coffee table with a horseshoe on the side




User Profile

I'm a 16 year-old junior in high school. I've figured out that Steemit is a great way to express my feelings about certain topics and get paid for it! I like to start all my articles with a quote to get the reader to understand the 'feeling' of the article before they start reading it.

See more of my posts here!

Verified Badge

Sort:  

cool. Old style ;)

Cool looking Furniture and horseshoes idea are awesome.

Good, I'm glad someone else likes the horseshoes! :)

It's Bring Luck Too.

Dude, you are a great craftsman. Rustic is the way to go! I wouldn't bother altering the height. Just build a second one if you want one shorter. People pay good money for rustic furniture. And the horseshoes are a great touch! Resteemed! I'm trying my best to get you noticed here. Hang in there and keep posting.

Cool, I'm glad you and other people like the horseshoe idea. I think it adds more detail to the rustic/country look.

Hi bro~ I do carpentry myself. Glad to find someone with the same interest as I do on Steemit. If you are interested, check out my new post. https://steemit.com/life/@willshu2049/carpentry-rediscover-manhood-1

Nice work man.

This is so cool! Well done! :)
For me wood furniture feels like you have a piece of nature inside your home.

Very nice work! I like that you re-purposed wood from multiple source. It's also cool that you can see the saw cuts on the face of the barn boards. Well done!

Thanks! Yeah, my goal was to make all the little features of the old wood pop out.

You succeeded! It's hard to get those details captured on camera, but you sure caught it this time.

Hi Elijah, great work! I do carpentry myself. Glad to find someone with the same interest as I do on Steemit. If you are interested, check out my new post. https://steemit.com/life/@willshu2049/carpentry-rediscover-manhood-1

Wow! Very nice. I love seeing other peoples work. You did a great job. I viewed your site and like your content. Going to follow you. Already following your sister. Hope you build more. Great job!

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61609.18
ETH 3390.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48