Self-awareness can be a powerful filter

in #life6 years ago

IMG_6364.jpg

One thing I'm proud of myself is self-awareness. I know my flaws, my habits, my routines, my impulses, my reactions and that gives me a sense of control over them. But why can this be a powerful filter as I said in the title? Let me explain it a bit further...

First of all I have to admit that I may know pretty well myself but I cannot see easily through others. I have a disability in evaluating one's character from the start. In fact when I meet new people, I act like Rantanplan. Everyone is cool, nice and friendly. (Does that mean I am a good person or a total idiot? Let's not analyse this now).

However God or mum and dad gave me a "talent" that balances my stupidity/naivety. The fabulous ability of making fun of myself and more precisely making fun of the negative or unpopular aspects of my personality. From one aspect this turns my weaknesses into strengths which -as they tell me- makes me more adorable (lol), and from another aspect unfolds the character of the one standing next to me.

By not hiding yourself or trying to impress others, not covering up your flaws or weaknesses, admitting your mistakes, sharing yourself unabashedly, you become candid about who you are and you give others a crystal-clear access to who you are. Additionally it makes it easier to evaluate one's character.

There are people who laugh, who agree, who get more interested in me, who don't really care about what I say and there are people who consider this as a weakness and get the chance to show off and prove me how awesome they are, unlike me. The last ones are a "no-no". They are the ones I call stupid or narcissistic, shallow pigs. Thus I instantly filter the idiots and eliminate them from my friend zone.

It is easy to understand why I don't like those people. They are unable to detect sarcasm and they are unable to experience even a little meta-cognition. They only care about bragging and trying to impress others and this never ends well. Hardly ever you can trust someone who talks all the time with the best words about himself. This shows that he has many things to hide. It also shows that we will never be able to communicate and get along.

So thank to my self-awareness, self-sarcasm and self-awesomeness (lol again), I'm able to read between the lines and keep the annoying ones away.

Sort:  

If only it worked on mosquitoes (and wasps) too!

hahahah I WISH it would!!! :D

Σωστός ο παίχτης!!! :)))
Πραγματικά αυτό είναι ένα πολύ μεγάλο προσόν.... πρέπει να είναι πολύ ευτυχισμένοι οι γονείς, σου οι φίλοι, σου η σχέση σου που σε έχουνε... :)))

Σε ευχαριστώ πολύ πολύ Νίκο για τα καλά σου λόγια!! :)) Τυχεροί και άτυχοι ενίοτε γιατί έχω και αρκετά στραβά :P

Τότε είναι καιρός να μας πεις μερικά από τα στραβά σου.... :P

Μόνο τα κολλήματά μου με την καθαριότητα, την τάξη και κάμποσοι ψυχαναγκασμοί, είναι αρκετά για να τους σπάω τα νεύρα. :P

Χαχα Τότε ασε τα κρυμμένα και εγώ αυτά τα κρύβω... :)))

χαχαχ μπα τα λέω για να ξέρουν με τι έχουν να κάνουν :P

Recognizing self awareness can be tricky. Do we finally become aware that we are pieces of a puzzle?

I believe that recognising self awareness doesn't "cancel" our awareness of being a piece of a puzzle :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46