Midlife Crisis or a Time For Transformation?

in #life6 years ago

In Western society, the midlife crisis is almost seen as a joke. It brings to mind images of flashy sports cars, flings with younger women and desperate obsession with trying to reclaim youth.

Or perhaps, the overweight, middle age man cruising round Thailand on a motorbike with the young bar girl riding on the back?

Living the dream!

(Of course, women also go through midlife changes, some of which are similar to men’s and some different. I’ll cover that in a separate article.)

However, this is doing a real disservice to the midlife time. It can be a time of great transformation if navigated well.

In some indigenous cultures, this time is known as the midlife opportunity, as it is seen as a time to become connected to self and spirituality at a deeper level and step into a new kind of role as an emerging sage.

It can be seen as another one of life’s initiations, such as adolescence.

Unfortunately, in our society, there is little guidance for any of these transitional times, which leads to people having to create their own rites of passage.

For example, adolescents forming gangs and experimenting with drugs, alcohol, sex and violence.

Likewise, middle aged men trying vainly to “reclaim” what they think they’ve lost, rather than stepping into the power of their new role in life.

Depositphotos_32873211_l-2015.jpg

It is amazing just how much of our life is controlled by automated bio-logical functions.

For example, I view myself as a free-spirited man, living on the edge (anything else takes up too much space!) and making my own choices to create a life that I truly love.

However, while researching into mid-life, I had to laugh when I saw the signs of a “mid-life crisis” and how many of them I have been exhibiting!

So, here are the top 10:

  1. An overwhelming urge to quit a “good” job – CHECK!

  2. Unexplained feelings of melancholy/depression when doing tasks you used to enjoy – I’ve noticed this slightly – more of a “what’s the point?” kind of feeling

  3. Changing or investigating religion/spirituality – CHECK! Definitely been exploring consciousness deeply

  4. Change of habits and reduced ability to concentrate and get things done – CHECK! Although I am increasingly getting a handle on this one.

  5. Excessively buying new clothes and taking time to look good – I haven’t succumbed to this one.

  6. Desire to run away to somewhere new – CHECK! And DONE!

  7. Desire/obsession with getting into physical shape – CHECK! See my ongoing fitness transformation series on @DTube as part of the @dtubefitness community

  8. Irritability and unexpected anger – CHECK! I have noticed a shorter fuse and resolving this is something I’m aware of currently

  9. Leaving family or feeling trapped in family circumstances – I haven’t been aware of this one, probably due to expecting things to be different, due to having a new baby

  10. Increased focus on meaning and “purpose” in life – CHECK! I started this one early

And a few others:

Constantly wondering (and changing) “where am I going in my life?”

Desiring to teach others/become a healer/change the world

Wishing for a simple life

And probably a few more that I’m still unconscious of!

However, would I call these a midlife crisis?

HELL NO!

Instead, I would say that bio-logical, emotional and energetic shifts in my body encouraged me to transform whatever was out of sync in my life.

There were some tricky times and it was quite a long process. There’s also still a lot to come, I’m sure.

Apparently, this transformational process can run from late thirties until around age 67! Although it doesn’t have to be that long.

I’m incredibly grateful to the awesome teachers and practitioners that I worked with at various stages throughout the journey, along with those that are yet to come.

Now, I’m really enjoying life, I’ve definitely got a deeper understanding of what I value and my vision for the future.

IMG_3325.JPG

My family and I are living in a beautiful part of Spain in a very tranquil, yet exciting place

There are inspiring, alternative education opportunities for our children

I’m working with people all over the world, supporting them to transform their health and lives

I’m fitter than I’ve been for years!

Thanks to Steemit, I am creating a great investment by sharing information and inspiration.

I’ve just launched a big vision project to enable people who can’t afford emotional and psychological support to be able to access it, while the practitioners also get paid – again possible thanks to the power of Blockchain technology. You can check it out here –

https://steemit.com/fundition/@eftnow/healing-with-heartpower-emotional-and-psychological-support-to-those-who-need-it-the-most

I’ve realised that there is very little guidance for people going through this mid-life transition, which is why most have to work it out on their own.

Therefore, I am now intending to offer this support. Recently, I have worked with several men who were struggling with aspects related to depression around mid-life issues. They have had great outcomes.

Here is a testimonial from someone I have supported in this way:

"I was referred to Sam by a friend at a time when I was struggling with anxiety, low self-esteem and frustration at feeling stuck in a pattern of negative emotions around both work and home life.

With good humour and a no-nonsense approach, Sam quickly put me at ease and guided me on a journey exploring the origins of my negative emotions, both recent experiences and episodes in childhood. Despite some initial scepticism on my part, I found tapping to be an accessible and effective technique for unlocking and resolving many of those feelings.
Combined with visualisation, values mapping and gentle coaxing from Sam, tapping has enabled me to reach a more positive and peaceful state, with greater clarity about what I want from life. I’ve also learned a simple technique that I’m confident will be a companion for life.

After six 90 minute sessions with Sam, I’ve achieved some significant positive shifts in my emotional and mental state which I now feel able to build on in the months and years ahead. Thank you, Sam."

James, Bristol

There are many more on my website here - https://eftnow.co.uk/eft-testimonials/

I want to support as many people as possible to make a choice to move forwards to a personal transformation in line with who they truly are, rather than a crisis based on still being tied to the past.

If you or anyone that you care about is going through difficult times at the moment, I’d love to provide the guidance, emotional and energetic support needed. You can contact me to explore whether working with me is right for you.

Wishing you a life that is truly, richly yours!

Sam x
EFTNow

Are you looking for increased health, wealth and freedom in your life? I am available to support free thinkers and entrepreneurs to break free from their limiting beliefs and create a life they love.

You can contact me either on Discord eftnow#4591 or via my website - https://eftnow.co.uk/

Sort:  

If you or anyone that you care about is going through difficult times at the moment, I’d love to provide the guidance, emotional and energetic support needed. You can contact me to explore whether working with me is right for you.

Wonderful spirit and initiative from you. I appreciate especially because these things are missing today. this is one of the most difficult periods experienced in a man's life. Awareness is the key to survive a mid-life crisis with minimal disruption.

🤖 Congratulations! You've been featured in the latest @SMG co-curators digest. Thank you for being one of our cherished members. See how much our mastermind appreciates you and your work here:

https://steemit.com/steemit/@smg/smg-digest-or-midlife-transformation-helpful-people-new-member-spotlight-magic-grass-and-grounding

Nice content my dear friend. Greetings from @ayahlistic

Everything in life can be a setback or an opportunity. What matter is how you look at it. It's good to see that you're dealing with your 'Midlife Crisis' well, and not only that, you're also helping other people through this seemingly difficult phase with your guidance and advice.
Good job! Keep up the great work!

I'm choosing transformation over midlife crisis EACH AND EVERY DAY. Morphing into an amazing winged creature. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for posting. I was just thinking about how I'm officially 41 earth years. Pretty wild. I appreciate your wisdom and willingness to support other. Have a good day :)

Lovely post; sounds like you've been handling this time of transition beautifully. And it's so good to see you owning this time, and knowing it is an important time of transition and energetic shifting, and a time to let go of things no longer serve you.

I've worked with the magic of EFT in the past, and I know how much it can help to decrease anxiety and stress, so it seems like the an obvious and perfect tool to dealing with intense transitions or mid-life crisis'. So nice that you are helping others deal with their stress too.

Loving your posts and good vibes, keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65717.99
ETH 3412.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20