Older and Creating It part 4: The Adventures of Hanya

in #life6 years ago

It was difficult to see Mariko struggling with her husband’s cancer. She kept the hope alive until the last minute regardless of what anybody said. The night of the opening, the crowd had already left and T asked if we could go home but I insisted because I wanted to be there for anyone who came to show us support. About 10 minutes before the end, Mariko who had been taking care of the man who inspired the character of Brunya showed up at last. Boy was I ever glad I stayed to go over the complete The Adventures of Hanya series with her.

Both me and T were very moved by he kind and delicate nature and the way she explained how the comic relates to her life.

AAD3949C-AD93-405E-AC19-CD7E322A9B21.jpeg

She was very proud to tell us about Brunya’s helpful nature when Marnya is having guests over. It is a small feminist gesture considering she usually does all the legwork around the house but it means the world to her. They are both just as patient as the other providing Hanya with a sound environment to thrive in.

A1488641-2677-41A2-9269-E178FC0F118A.jpeg

The background in the first panel is simple yet effective. It creates a mood while situating the family in False Creek location with free flowing hatched marks. The heart is a powerful symbol that has been judiciously placed here. It means love to be sure but can you guess the more subtle flavors of the emotion here displayed?

60949198-07C6-415D-9138-10B7E085FE80.jpeg
.

E02C0988-7C6F-4778-B9EC-00E30E6B2F50.jpeg

My mom is, like Mariko, a senior and she is currently changing her internet provider of 20 years which was when the web went mainstream. It has been finicky for weeks and she waited and waited for them to call back before finally letting the company go, still feeling like she had betrayed them somehow.

There is such a knowledge gap between the young and the old regarding technology especially when it comes to the internet. As one of the young, I could be way more savvy so I can imagine the distress Marnya felt when struggling with a worm.

728961C0-0348-4518-9F4F-86DA34120955.jpeg

When Brunya does it, he’s treated like a backseat driver but when Hanya critiques, she is the finder of solutions. What gives?

The emoji in the flame takes this page to another level for me 🐲

604687F2-D2E2-4C40-88CE-BC7B84E5F0C3.jpeg

1CB886AD-A4AA-41D7-8EFB-8E40152C2F46.jpeg

Shortly after the art opening, Mariko Kurahashi’s husband passed away.

I feel great appreciation to receive kind supports from many good hearted people like you, your boy friend and Diana.
My husband is gone now, but he left me many treasures behind.
It's still tough to live without him, but I think I have to make my life go ahead.
I will come back to "Tsuyoi Mariko", and see you at your class in September.
Please enjoy this summer. I am looking forward to seeing you again.

I am looking forward to seeing you too dearest friend. I don’t play favourites with my students but I have to admit that our bond is a very special one. It is your perseverance working on this project at home that provided us with time together outside of class. You have much to be proud of. I send much love to you but also to your husband on the other side.

Older and Creating It

Part 1:
https://steemit.com/art/@edouard/old-and-creating-it-part-1-feel-wall
Part 2:
https://steemit.com/art/@edouard/older-and-loving-it-part-2-life-modeling
Part 3:
https://steemit.com/art/@edouard/older-and-creating-it-part-3-born-of-a-comic-jam

Steemit Dreamit is on Discord!
41CC0671-713C-42C7-AE1C-406E42693805.jpeg

Sort:  

a very sad story but lovely art. death of a family member is probably the hardest hit anyone can take.

btw i joined the discord channel 😌

Awesome, so glad to have you!!!!

You got a 4.28% upvote from @upme thanks to @edouard! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

I love these comics. ♡
And i really love the title of this blog series. I know a few senior artists too and they're pretty amazing. Its true about the technology/age gap and your mom is really patient, most people (again maybe an age difference?) Wouldn't have given the company a chance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83