Why I'm angry: A story of how I became what I am today.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I am usually a rational person. Aggressively so even. One friend in college told me I was "Abusively Sane", so completely grounded in an unembellished world view that it made other people uncomfortable. But at my core, I am a deeply angry person.  Someone on here said that, if I told people about my anger, they would respect me for it.  I don't believe them. But I'm gonna do it here and we'll see what happens. If you want shiny stories about happy lives or over coming adversity and well adjusted, positive world views, then look elsewhere.

The earliest memory I have of it was my sister nearly dying.  She fell off a small plastic jungle gym onto a concrete floor, head first, when she was maybe 2 years old.  Something like this thing

She only fell a foot or two, but she landed right on her head. I have no real memory of what went on after it; they took her to the hospital. I heard later from my father that they were really frightened, they thought she might die. But she lived. She had a swollen section of skull on her forehead for years. It's gone now, vanished when she hit puberty, and there seems to have been no permanent effects of the fall. She's a smart girl, a great artist and she's grown up to be beautiful. She made me a bracelet out of string once, that I wore continuously for years, even though I only saw her occasionally.  When it finally broke, she got a tattoo on her wrist to match it, because me wearing it like that meant so much to her. 

My memory of that fall was of grabbing at her legs as she went over the edge.  She jokes that I pushed her, trying to get rid of the competition in the family. I laugh. I'm terrified that I might have. I might really have been angry enough to push her. I don't know, I can't remember. 

My school career was a paradoxical one.  I've always been good in school, usually without even trying. I coasted through classes with near perfect grades, but I was always being suspended. It was at least once a semester, sometimes more. 

In preschool it was because flipped a desk and threw a chair across the room. Some kid had taken a project I had done and was claiming it as his own. I remember it still. His head was strangely round, with close cut fuzzy hair, an upturned nose and a mouth too big for his face. I remember him taunting me, that too-big mouth open. It's become a caricature in my mind, distorted by the years. The teacher, some tall black lady with similarly close cut hair, was taking his side. She was scolding me for lying. Lying about doing my own work.  When it came it just bubbled up, like a geyser going off. I flipped the desk as I stood up and threw the chair at that kid before I could even process what was going on. I was almost as surprised as he was.  The teacher told me to go to the principal's office. I remember she said it through clenched teeth. They were very bright white, and contrasted heavily with her skin. 

In first or maybe second grade I told a girl that "I hoped she got anthrax and died". This was sometime directly after 9/11 and in the wake of the anthrax letter scares. 

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2001_anthrax_attacks

You see, I was never popular in school. An introvert, known for good grades and thus ostracized, nerdy, given a pair of glasses far too large for me, I was almost a sterotype. These girls, there were two, were just some of a few people to get their kicks out of harassing me.  I wanted them to leave me alone, to stop tormenting me for no reason, so I just repeated something I'd heard on tv and walked away. An hour later I was at the principal's office with the cops asking me questions. The girls had squealed,  of course they had, and some bright spark in the office thought that a first grader might be a terrorist. I got a few weeks suspension from that. The girls who had been harassing me for weeks? Nothing. It's a pattern I became quite used to.  They could do what they wanted to me, and I couldn't do anything. I hated them. I sat in class and ground my teeth, staring at them. 

Later in the year, we had a white elephant gift giving thing for Christmas. I actually managed to get the thing I wanted from it; a bottle of sparkling cider. I was young and for some reason I really wanted it. Don't ask me why. I was happy, I can remember that much, probably very visibly so.  I should have seen it coming, but one of those two girls from before decided that she wanted what I had.  Or rather, she wanted to deny me the thing that was making me happy. I could see it on her face, a smug satisfaction as she pointed to me. I protested. I asks her not to do this. I  yelled at her. The teacher told me I had to give it up.

I hit her with that bottle of cheap cider.  Sprang right out of my chair and just clocked her in the jaw with it. I remember a blur of a face with wide surprised eyes as she fell. She deserved it.  I still believe that. This wasn't some random attack, this was retaliation for countless abuses. No one else was going to help me and words wouldn't stop it anyways.  I threw the bottle into the wall after hitting her, shattering it and spraying glass and cider all over the place. I think I yelled something at her, but I can't remember it. That was another few weeks suspension. 

 It only made me more angry. These flare ups, these moments of violence, were just the points where I couldn't control it any more. I think that some of them were justified. But the truth was that I was always angry.  A cold sort of dispassionate hatred that made me stay away from people. I hated them, or rather I hated how effortlessly happy they were.  They occupied a golden field far away, someplace I could see but never go. They wouldn't let me in. I wanted to be there with them, to no longer be the butt of the joke, the target of a shared malice. I was jealous, am still jealous, of them. And that frustration at my own predicament them quickly became anger at them. 

School went on. I got put into advanced classes because I was out performing everyone in my grade. My father read me things like lord of the rings as bedtime stories when I was very young, so something like "Animorphs" was a bit beneath what I was used to. It was a mixed blessing. I got my first real friends out of those classes, other introverted nerds who were ostracized from the rest of the student body. I clung to them so tightly, they were the first people who liked me that didn't have familial obligations toward me. They wanted to be around me because of who I was, even with my flaws.  Of course, being further separated out of the general population meant that the problems they caused me only got worse. I got attacked several times, and I generally never knew why. I think it simply was because I was different. Maybe my place in those classes made other kids feel inferior? Maybe I occupied a position they wanted but could not reach, like they did with me.  Maybe our hate grew in symmetry. 

There was a zero tolerance policy for fighting, of course. Which meant, effectively, that if you got into a fight, even if you didn't raise a finger and just let them beat you, that you were punished just has harshly. Sometimes worse.  That first fight, a kid a grade higher than me attacked me with a t-ball bat, and the aftermath of it taught me only one thing: If I am going to be punished for getting beaten up, then why would I not fight back? If I am going to be hurt and then punished, why wouldn't I hurt them back?  Which wasn't to say I was some kind of great fighter holding back against them. I still lost most of the time, I was a nerd after all. But I would break a nose at least.  When they dragged us to the office, at least both of us were bloody. 

By the time I reached sixth grade, I was a mess. Chubby, blond hair, bowl cut, oversized glasses, wearing tribal print button up shirts or ones with flame prints on them.  I almost can't blame people for picking on me; it's painful to look through the old photos and see myself looking like such a goddamned idiot. Our past selves are always jerks to our present selves.  Despite looking like the most non-threatening stereotypical nerd I had gained a reputation. You can only get into fights so many times before it becomes what you are in other people's eyes. 

But I still had those friends of mine. Kids who liked what I liked, who didn't make fun of me for who I was. I had reached that golden field that had been so far away.  I didn't mind the attacks so much anymore, being bullied wasn't so bad when you had people to be with. It was being alone that made it intolerable. When I graduated to middle school, I though that even if this all stayed the same, even if the fights  and the ostracizing continued, it wouldn't be so bad as long as I had those friends. 

It didn't turn out like that of course. 



Thats enough for one post I think. Some people have shown interest so I'm gonna continue this in another post a bit later. 

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing Ecto, your story moved me.

CG

Respect for sharing this :)

Thanks for sharing. Things get better. And sometimes, reframing events can really let the pressure out.

It does help to talk about it, even just here. I don't think I've ever really told anyone about it.

It's a shame posts like that probably won't trend

I expected as much. I'm not an attractive person talking about how great their life is. I've learned that no one really wants to hear about this sort of thing.

Huh. You know, I guess I was wrong. There's at least someone out there with a little pull who wants to hear more.

Thank you.

When my bother was a toddler I double bounced him on a trampoline sending him flying head first off the edge of it. I grabbed his leg and jerked him back resulting in a broken leg for him.

When my sister and I were young we were trying to catch a lizard that fled under a concrete block. I lifted said block and my sister some how got her foot under it and I was unable to hold it up any longer resulting in 3 broken toes.

A family friend's child was watching us play back yard baseball when I was also younger and somehow managed to position himself behind me just as I was swinging a wooden bat. It made contact with his nose and broke it.

I in no way intended for these events to happen but they did. Sometimes bad shit and bad luck follow people. Plus children are like totally fragile.

I should also add that I am sorry you were made fun of as a child. People can be real ass-hats.

It's alright. The more I think about it, the more I come to realize how we were probably sharing different sides of the same feeling. School is a place that can bring out the worst in people. The pressure to do well, the nature of the cliques and popularity, the desire to fit in, it all weighs heavily on kids who aren't yet emotionally developed enough to make good decisions.

I don't hate those kids anymore, even though I don't really regret my actions at the time either. But I realize that those actions and events have left me changed. I realize it, but it's hard to change.

It takes more energy to hate than to forgive. It is hard to change. I also struggle with anger issues and it takes discipline for me to not lash out. I just know that I want to be a good, kind, and compassionate person so I devote myself to inhabiting those qualities. Based on your response you seem to be a level headed individual capable of accepting responsibility for your actions.

The educational system brings the worst out in every kid. Too much bullying to peer pressure.

Well, you shared your anger.

And, believe it or not, I respect you more for it. Thanks for sharing.

By the way, if anyone's curious, this was the post mentioned at the beginning of the article.

I had to stop reading at some point to collect myself and not start crying.

Your story is different from mine, and yet way too similar: one of helplessness in the face of blatant authoritarian injustice, of airborne classroom furniture and little sisters, of tears of wrath, bottled-up anger, curses against all of humanity, dark fantasies of revenge and retaliation, sacred vows to swallow it all, compress it into a tiny diamond and one time explode in an all-consuming ball of fire and take the whole world with me.

Today, I am known - and consciously try to be - for being calm, rational, patient, funny, aloof, peace-loving, almost boringly predictable and hard to infuriate; maybe every once in a while I throw something against the wall and the very next second clean up the mess to force myself to relax; sometimes I catch myself casually saying something that betrays my anger, hurting someone who deserves it the least, and apologize, but most of the times the other person didn't even notice. Sometimes I just walk away and let others misinterpret it as my being sulky, while I convince myself I am protecting them from me.

Because still I fear somebody might succeed one day in provoking me so much that the "silk string" snaps (in my language, the "nerves" are strings and vary in thickness between "silk string" and "steel cable"). No army, no gods and no titan, no incredible Hulk and no Super Saiyan could rescue that person from my claiming satisfaction.

I felt it when I read your description of the sparkly cider incident.

@cryptogee's post sent me here, so I have not read any of your follow-ups yet, but will do asap. For now, I hope you have found your way to cope with, or to channel, these energies and turn them into the power to make a change for the next generation. Have many thanks for your words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27