STEEM Around the World!!!! The EcoKnowme wants to send YOU something special.... Just PAY IT FORWARD ;)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

This post is actually a sonnet in praise of @stortebeker.  This fella is one of the true gems I have found in my journeys on Steemit here.  I highly recommend checking out his Blog and supporting his work and posts.

I am SO confident that this amazing project will go far and showcase the REAL power of Steemit that the EcoKnowme has DONATED 5 STEEM to @storrebeker in hopes that it will help get this idea off the ground!  Also ALL transferable proceeds from this post will also be donated to #steemaroundtheworld ... can we get an Upvote or maybe a ReSteem?

It occurred to me that the items need to be handmade so I may have to adjust my offering, but so far it looks like a collection of SPICES might be the easiest.  The Handmade part will be the combination of Spices I provide from the area.  I COULD try to send my own grown Turmeric (for example) but the time and processing required (not to mention the experimental quality) make less sense than just giving Spices from a small Local Business that do their own spices.  I will include my simple recipe for dal.  

HOW COULD THIS WORK?

I live in a remote area, BUT ironically I am surrounded by Enthusiast Steemians I can walk to in little time.

But that's not as much Fun as trying to figure out a way to share this offering with someone who might not have the same ease of access to wonderful Indian Spices.   Meanwhile, simple Western spices/herbs are quite rare here.  Oregano and Rosemary are possible to grow but not so common in the shops... go figure.  Anyone wanna trade?


A little story

So let's pretend we have a willing recipient of said Spices.

I receive the address in a private message or email.

From there we determine whether it is something done easily through the post (especially if it is within India)

If not, and we need to go International (which is what it looks like so far)  and perhaps we can plug into the river of backpackers going to and fro from here in the Indian Subcontinent.  Ideally, they are already on Steemit and are happy to join into the experiment.  If not, we persuade and encourage them to get an account and get on the team for Steemaroundtheworld.

Plan B

I continue to write about my offering in various posts and save up the necessary funds to properly ship the parcel to the lucky winner.  Although we cannot pay DHL or UPS in STEEM just yet,  a healthy micro-sub economy is developing with my offline Steemit friends here and I am certain that I could tranfer my earnings to them in exchange for the crisp Rupees I would need to send the parcel.   Not so romantic, but practical.

What's the worse that could happen?

Sticky fingers, forgetfulness or simple human error could prevent so-and-so from receiving the spices and dal recipe, But I honestly think that those involved will be proven to be trustworthy honest and keen to showcase the power of a Blockchain enabled community of good folks.  What do you think?

So Who is Interested?


STEEM ON and ON and ON til we Circle the Globe!!!


@ecoknowme


Please consider DONATING DIRECTLY to @stortebeker


PAY IT FORWARD (trailer)    For Inspiration ;)

An Upvote will mean more Crypto for the Cause so please Help anyway you can.

A ReSteem brings more awareness and can move us that much closer to making this Project go VIRAL.

Afterall, Love is Contagious !  And the only infection you should spread!



Sort:  

First steps that will hopefully lead to more... :-)

Thanks @bubke ! you are most welcome to join!

There's always Ebay O.o
:))

Thanks for the first submission, @ecoknowme! And also, a great thanks to both you and @ecoalex for your donations. I've updated the contest to show the price of 5 SBD. The 30 SBD I want to use as the basis for the first shipment. Depending on the turnout, I'll re-initiate the contest next week, but there is still half a week to go.

Awesome, lemme know if you would like any adjustments to the post for clarity or what not and I'll revise before the blockchain hammer drops ;)

Revision, not needed. In fact, I was thinking: if there are no other contestants, you'd win your donation right back! So what then? In that case I'll make ANOTHER contest, or rather the same contest, better explained with a better example. I don't see it as a failure. Maybe a setback, but I'd say much rather that it needs more time to grow. Thanks for helping it grow, btw!

This is Wonderful! @ecoknowme , @stortebeker is one of my faves too. =) Lots of quality folks here! Good cause, i like this idea, Rstmd for increased visibility

Thank you so much! Is there anything from India you might like? Or perhaps a fav stone? I have pink quartz, moonstone etc :)

Heck yes. Any crystals, stones, cool rocks, mineral specimens! Just contact me on discord, slack, fb messenger so we can hash out the deets =)

@ecoknowme have a nice day. fantastic thanks for share. if you never share i can't see the greatest place awesome thing

thanks @mar99 glad you enjoyed. Feel free to check out original post this is responding to:
https://steemit.com/contest/@stortebeker/steem-around-the-world-challenge-preparation-3-including-a-contest
Cheers @ecoknowme

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56442.36
ETH 2405.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32