You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lessons from the Libertarian In-fighting

in #life8 years ago

Sociopaths are also really good at acquiring power and rising through the ranks simply due to their willingness to volunteer for positions when others would rather do something else if they can get someone else to volunteer to attend meetings, etc.

Sort:  

@dwinblood I never heard of that and I would love to hear more about it if you have any stuff you think I should look at.

As far as I've seen, sociopaths never do actual work, they just theorize about how other should work, who is earning more... Etc.

Honestly, I can't see them volunteer for everything. Their extreme laziness is strictly correlated to their relentlessness on focusing on what other people are doing.

As I said, would love to see or read some stuff if you have something interesting you wanna share.

It is a pet hypothesis/theory of mine:

We come up with great ideologies that seem great on paper or our own minds. Yet somehow once it is in the wild and applied to all humans invariably corruption occurs.

My observations make me currently believe this is true of religions, governments, corporations, etc.

These things can often be quite good and represent the actual initial vision for awhile, but it seems ultimately they are all corrupted.

My theory is that those who WANT power, are typically not the type that should HAVE power. Yet the people that would be good with the power likely have other things they'd like to be working on, so they won't volunteer to attend more meetings, do paperwork they don't have to, etc unless it is purely by necessity.

This kind of creates a void of opportunity. If someone seeking power realizes it they can volunteer.

Each such position can be a stepping stone to fill voids higher within the hierarchy.

So by this my theory is that such power seekers will naturally tend to bubble/rise/percolate towards the top of organizations.

This also can lead to corruption.

So your sociopath idea is not one I've used before, but by nature many of these people would be sociopaths. Seeking power does not mean you have any interest in actually improving things for other people. Sociopaths do not have to be stupid either, in fact they can be intelligent and focused.

Anyway, I've not seen anyone else really talk about this somewhere I can refer you. It is something I've thought about.

It was me wondering why great companies with very humanitarian goals seem to eventually all veer away from that over time. Same with governments, and pretty much any organization.

At the moment... this is my leading contender for what I think is going on.

A lot of interesting points.

To me power, like money and other things are just smoke screen.

It's not the object itself, but sociopaths escalate, that's something that has to do with their criminal personality and not the object.

Even serial killer and other predatory types of personality escalates.

In this case, it's not the power that corrupt, they were always gonna do the same.

However, I don't like hierarchies of course. :)

I came up with this hypothesis years ago. I've kind of kept it in my mind when I am watching political and corporate activites.

It is likely flawed, but I do think there may be something to it.

When I say POWER. I am referring to influence and manipulation of others. Some people have a taste for that.

Whether it is money, or some other mechanism I thought I should define POWER for you in the context I use it within that hypothesis.

Ah ok, I actually though it you meant a rank in a company. Thanks for clarifying that.

Yeah, definitely some people have a taste for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56618.92
ETH 2337.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40