This is not Yogurt

in #life7 years ago

Here is a quick recipe to make coconut "yogurt". Really it should be called something else because yogurt is due to fermentation of milk products. While this is a good alternative to a generic whip dessert topping, it does not contain the nutritional benefits of milk based yogurt, namely Butyric acid. I describe how this fatty acid is useful for fighting gut inflammations in my posting about Ghee https://steemit.com/life/@dwarrilow2002/ghee-whiz-or-once-again-i-offend-someone.

Sort:  

Ok I am all over making this! Trying to keep away from dairy.

Hey @sequentialvibe

Once again I start to reply to someone and it becomes too large to leave as just a reply so I post it as part of my blog. I recognise that you follow a vegan lifestyle. Unfortunately I do not know enough about nutrition to follow that path. Recently I compared the nutrients in Eggs Benedict and a vegan Benedict and they just do not compare. While the vegan product might have had a similar taste, it absolutely did not have the same nutritional values. I cannot claim that I eat healthier than a vegan but caffeine doesn't really match any of the daily required nutrients. One thing about eating a balanced diet is that while one single food might not give you the nutrition that you need, having the widest range of food sources is safest. For a month one time, I did the Raw Food for 30 days (but I modified it by adding some cooked meat and milk) and I did feel much healthier. So I believe that the healthiest option would be that type of diet - for me. No food is perfect for every person. For instance soy.

Disturbing data have been reported on potential negative effects of soy isoflavones on cognitive function in the aged, particularly relating to tofu intake.

Source

Here is my defense for milk products

Once again I do eat yogurt because I can and not everyone has the necessary mutation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47