When a man rushes through his life, he rushes to die

in #life7 years ago

Impatience is gonna get you killed!

This wise old saying comes from my late grandpa. My father's line is not so long - living as my mother's (I have a great grandpa who still lives).

Few words about the author of this saying and the circumstances in which this saying was used!

My grandpa was a drunk.

Through his career of a drunk, he drank few tanker ships, but all of the time he remained good - tempered. Actually, he was more aggressive when he was sober. He drank a lot and my grandma tried to prevent him. She carefully hid all vine bottles and all family looked after grandpa. Few years before he died, the doctor said that he shouldn't smell the vine anymore. So, it was prohibited to him, but we were finding vine bottles in laundry machine, in the garden even covered with a pile of sand... He was hiding of us and drank whenever and wherever he got chance.

Second thing that he loved the most was - EATING.

He was a little man, 1,68 meters tall, but he weighted 120 kilograms. He lost some kilos few years before he died. But he was the lover of roast meat and he hated any sort of salad and vegetables. He was very stubborn about food. When I was a kid, when I asked him for some change, he would give me some money only if it was for food or a snack.

He was born in 1935 in a very poor family and he had 7 brothers and one sister.

Their father wanted for all of them to be workers so, my grandpa left his home as 15 years old boy and started to learn for a mechanic. After that, he got the job in the "light metals factory" and he worked there for 40 years. That was in time of the communist regime, so the "party" gave him a flat in a building in which all workers from that factory lived. So, you work and live with the same people, of course that you will end up like a drunk! Luckily, my grandma had ambitions to build the house.

When he got retired, he turned to a laziest person in the world. He was sitting and drinking all the time. And all what he was saying was: "Take it easy", or "Slow down", or "Don't rush"... "If a man rushes through his life, he rushes to die"...

He died in December last year. I will remember him with a smile on my face! Thank you!

Sort:  

This is a nice way to remember your grandpa. I especially like the honesty.

Thank you!

Its always good to be around old people. You get to learn a lot about life. Nice post, made me miss my grandpa.

Thank you!!!

@dumar022, I appreciate tears in the morning, because you made me emotional my friend. I'm the guy who cries easily and I appreciate this post so much.

I wasn't close to my grandpas , and one died when I was young and he was an alcoholic. He was a kind man, but lived a hard and fast life.

Much love from California and Steem On Dude!

Thank you for these kind words, my friend, @runridefly! Steem On

It sounds like he enjoyed his life! Sorry for your loss.

Nice story, thanks for sharing.

Thank you for the comment

My grandpa too was never saying no when i used to ask for food or a snack haha
I finished reading with a smile on my face
God bless all of us

Lol, thanks

Your grandpa reminded me of my daddy
He was a drunk too.

Thank you, we have to remember only funny and positive things about them

Dream as if you’ll live forever, live as if you’ll die today.” James Dean

Thanks for comment

Good story thanks, I lived 30 years in a retirement town, and always took some time to chat with the elderly ( in a park or such) They love to talk, and it never took too much encouragement to get them started.
But I led them a bit too, what was your best and worst day ever ?
Great info :-)
Plus your secret to longevity ( if they were over 90 and looking and feeling good )
That reminds me of another blog I will do....

My Signature Post ---> Potential Followers Please Click HERE to get started All reply's & feedback Cherished :-)

Thanks, this is a nice comment

Laziness is no fun no matter how fast or slow you do it. Are you ready to meet your maker?
Thanks for sharing and giving something to think about.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65