Don't throw your food away! I learned it hard way!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Give Us This Day Our Daily Bread...

When I was little kid, my country was in very difficult situation.

After the war people didn't have any job, any money and many of them didn't even have a place to live. I remember some kids that I was playing with, they wore torn, old clothes and too small shoes. It was too big difference between rich and poor and those who were in the middle were very lucky. My father started his own business, so we were that lucky.
My dad was really sensitive about poverty and did a lot for charity. Always when I wanted to go out to play, he would make me a large sandwich and told me to offer a piece to my friends because he knew who were kids that I was playing with.

Dad was very mad about throwing the food or leftovers in garbage. In our home, we had to eat all, and not to waste or throw anything. Once, when I was 11, I protested. I said that I ate enough and that I can't eat anymore. Dad reminded me on me on a piece of bread that I took but decided to leave there. I refused to eat it and that made my dad very angry... so I ate it after all.

After many years I found myself in a pretty fucked up situation.

Dad died because of cancer. We spent all our money trying to find a cure for him, but that wasn't meant to be. I went to college in other city and my mom had her little business. She couldn't provide much for me, my sister went to high school and we had a real financial troubles and debts. I wanted to stay on college so I had to work on some really shitty places and I was hungry a lot of times. Really hungry. And the image how my dad forced me to eat that piece of bread appeared in my mind many times.

I promised to myself that when I finish my college I will never be hungry again and I will never throw any leftovers.

Time was passing and my mom reconciled with my grandma. They joined forces in tourist business and things started to get better again. My mom expanded her business and employed my sister. I finished the college, came back home and started to work immediately. That wasn't the end of my troubles, an auto-immune disease forced me to not work for some time and to change few jobs.

Life is all about fighting, it never stops.

Now I am somewhere I like to be.

I have wife, a daughter, a good job and a place to live. Better car would be nice, but I am happy with all together. I will try to learn my kid real values of life and I will try to stay on this planet as long as I can only to prevent her to learn this the hard way! Thank you!

Sort:  

i almost cried reading this because your story reminded a lot mine. My father raised me in a similar way and fortunately he won the cancer battle, at least for now, this beast likes to come back. I am really sorry for your loss.

Thank you, @trumpman, I am glad about your father. Many years passed since then and we all live new lives now. Thanks for the comment

The past is sometimes so painful, but your struggle and family is not in vain. maybe now you have a happy life. Parents do not want us to live wasteful by throwing food away. This is a very interesting post @dumar022

Thank you @rizasukma, I appreciate it

It is when I am at my poorest that I learn or remember the richest lessons. As much as I hated how my parents didn't want waste growing up, I am grateful that they instilled some values in me.

Have a wonderful Tuesday!

You too, and thanks for this nice comment

My pleasure!

My parents were like that as well. When I was like 12 we eat potatoes every day. Like every. fucking.day. Mostly only potatoes. So the food throwing issue hits home for me too.

I guess you have one little all-eater at home! ;)

She started to be picky. But it goes with the two-year-old territory. She will eat again when she turns four, five.

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Read this… warning! STEEMIT PHISHING SCAM Never give away your password !

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @dumar022 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Good on you for knowing better. I don't understand why so many waste food just like that.

Everytime I go out on a date, it's with a girl who doesn't like to eat.

So, I guess you eat all :)

I totally agree with you. I like your initiative: D

My pleasure! :D

Hello @dumar022

We at @adsactly find your post interesting. Food is what most people take for granted.

We have also been monitoring your activity for some time and we believe that you are a great part of this beautiful Steemit community.

Please accept this small token of our gratitude and be welcomed to our ranks here: ADSactly

Your post was upvoted by Keyholder North, rewarding you with 4.4$

Keep up your awesome work!

Thanks for reading and upvoting

You got through this. You can tell your child, do not waste your food

Things are good, just have to keep working on it. Plus you live in a beautiful country.

I work on it! Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45