You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fumble Fingers !

in #life6 years ago

It really was a beauty and I do love crackle glass! Sorry that happened and I keep wondering if it was rendered a little more frail in the shipping? I think I have only ever purchased it in person, but, can't say that for sure. I know people buy glass online all the time, but after the first accident, I stopped.

It was a piece I really wanted. Booooo!

!tip

Sort:  

I thought it was a beauty too ! 😕

I buy glass off of ebay and etsy occassionally, however, most of the time it is for myself and I don't collect crackle glass even though I do have one very nice crackled jug. I like the cased glass for myself and it is usually pretty sturdy (barring handles possibly) since it is at least double layers of glass. I have never received a piece broken yet.... yet.

This jug was wrapped and cushioned well, but I did wonder if the bumping around could have weakened it too, but if so, it was not obvious when I unwrapped and inspected it. I guess I believe with all the cracks already in it, it may be a bit precarious the bigger the piece that you get. Just a theory.

I do find some treasures in the vintage and consignment shops too.

Sorry you lost a piece that you really wanted.

I think some of my best pieces were found in box lots at local (not my local! LOL) auctions.

Oh, my!! The goodies I have found in those $1 box lots. Where you get 30 boxes for $1.00! All they want to do is get rid of stuff so they don't have to haul it off! I bought an old Singer treadle sewing machine year ago, I think it was something like $35.00 and it was in pristine condition. When I got it home and opened the drawers (you know how they had little drawers to keep sewing notions) it had sewing notions that were from when the machine was new and still unopened. And little sample lipsticks from the pharmacy and all kinds of cool stuff like that!

I was totally blown away. I still have them, right in those same drawers. I have no idea why I left them there, but, it was like part of its charm.

Now glassware. Oh, I used to love finding a cool piece. Still do, but now I have no extra space to put these things! I must need a bigger house!

!tip

🎁 Hi @jacey.boldart! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Monday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67