Why do I feel guilty when I'm sick?

in #life7 years ago

guilty-3096227__480.png

Today is a great opportunity to just relax and catch up on sleep. As instructed by the Doctor. So why do I feel guilty?

I wrote over the recent summer break (I'm Aussie, so for our Northern Hemisphere readers, we have summer in your winter) about how the Gods of Mischief and Mayhem had a bit of fun at my expense when we had our family holiday in New Zealand (see: https://steemit.com/life/@drwom/new-zealand-travel-blog-3-6-something-always-goes-wrong-parts-3-and-4).

That post tells how, among other things, my childhood chicken pox returned over the holidays in the form of shingles. The Dreaded Pox is back. SO awesome.

And yep, although they cleared up before I had to go back to work, they're back (again!).

Brilliant. Out damn pox! Out I say!

They returned over the Australia Day long weekend.

The Gods of Mischief and Mayhem are having a hoot.

So I am off work for the next few days, and feeling totally guilty about it. Even though Australia has brilliant healthcare (despite the current government wanting to take an axe to it ala Trump), and so most people have either had, or have been vaccinated against, chicken pox. But I definitely don't want to risk anyone else getting it.

So, I shall stay home. Get a few things done. And relax; take it slow; try to heal.

water-2208931__480.jpg

I hope this post finds you in a better state 🌞

✨ ✨ ✨

Photos - courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

Shits happen in every one's life, it is just left to us to keep them in checks so that it won't affect us in any negative way. Thanks, I hope we all find succour during times of adversity.

You need not feel guilty about it, this things just happens.
Good thing you think of trying to avoid getting others getting it.
Do stay strong, relax, and get better.

Not going to work so other people wont get infected shows you have a Good heart .You should take alot of Water.
Lastly Man,if you believe in God it should clear up sooner than you expect,so pray.
@drwom

I think it is really normal to feel guilty when you get sick but still want to be working. I hope you feel better soon. You don't need to feel guilty but just know your feelings of it is validated.

i love the care and attention that i get from people who truly care, mostly from my mom she is such a wonderful woman.

Insightful post and pernitanate for a culture that has been conditioned with the idea that there must be a debt that must be paid, but never know how much or why...so that leaves the mind to create the guilt task master in the form of every religious dogma or ideology ...or even an avowed atheist, there is always a rationality,
But your childhood triggering, from the pox is very understandable.
I talk to guilt like the asshole it is, and say you work for me buddy...its not the other way around.;)

Lynn

@drwom
could be a blessing in disguise so you enjoy more sleep and steem more! but hey, wish you all the best in health. however, ensure your immune system is up. avoid alchohols or smoking if you do, eat more of fiber rich food and fruits/ greens that build your immune which ensures such dosnt have space to come again and excercise. water therapy is a good starter with green tea!. steem on mate and hope you had fun during the independence day.

You don't have to feel guilty! You now ensure nobody else gets it, and you have some days extra days. I hope you get better soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31