What is it about good cafés?

in #life7 years ago

IMG_4030.JPG

I'm a coffee lover. And a café lover. Is there a difference? You bet.

There's something about my favourite cafés. They are different, yes, but at the same time there is something very same about them.

Really good cafés have something extra special about them. And they have to be really good to make it onto my list of favourites. #1 They have to have great coffee. #2 They have to serve great breakfasts. Okay, so I can see this isn't a universal requirement, but hey, this is my blog. #3 They have to have great sit-ability. What is that, you ask? Well, a great café, a truly awesome café is the kind of place where you can comfortably sit for hours at a time writing, reading, blogging, daydreaming and pondering. A great café doesn't judge, doesn't hassle and isn't in your face every 5 minutes: Can I get you anything else?

#4 A great café doesn't try and clean your table out from under you as soon as you finish your meal. Sure, they take the plates, but that's about as far as it goes. #5 A great café has friendly staff working in a friendly environment. There is background music loud enough to hide the specific words of individual conversations and give an air of privacy. But not loud enough to be annoying.

#6 And last but not least, a great give-away of a great café is that it has return customers. This is easy to pick, even if you're only in a place for a couple of days. The same person. Doing the same thing at roughly the same time.

So there you have it. This is why I love great cafés.

〰➰〰

Photo by @drwom

drwom-01.png

DQmampd9mQbBZuWMnd1uSm37WSjquEWDcwKGZjz15dpivgQ.png

@drwom footer by the awesome @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

Well don't got to the USA if you love coffee then. We too are coffee 'snobs' and their coffee is, shithouse! Starbucks was the only place you could get a coffee that came close to meeting our lofty standards!

I know, right? And Starbucks? Bluuuurgh
New York and Washington have learnt something from Aussies recently, though. If you go to the right place you can get a decent flat white

I am a coffee lover too, i can not live without my coffe maker with grinder, it really weaks me up the smell of a good coffee bean in the morning.

Don't forget how friendly the customers are! One feature that my favorite coffee shops is that customers will often lend books, magazines, or newspapers to each other.

Well I dont think that there is a big difference because you enter a cafe to have a coffee.
And in some other languages Cafe means Coffee, so you have the same result :)
Nice post, enjoyed reading it!

This is a great thinking prompt for me. I am all about coffee, but seldom about cafes. I need to explore my own city a little bit more and find my favorite cafes. Starbucks and Biggby Coffee runs in-and-out do not count as cafes.

So nice 😉 if you want, check my channel and see my food posts 🙏💘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69629.04
ETH 3375.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74