#Lifetricks - great tricks and shortcuts to help you get through life (part 2)

in #life7 years ago

Lifetricks are the ordinary bits of wisdom that help make life easier - please share yours!

Lifetricks are the little bits of wisdom I find myself giving my daughter every now and then when I think of them - usually through a process of doing - actively using the lifetrick in a day-to-day 'real life' situation. Mostly, they are not very profound. Sometimes I guess they can be.

image.jpeg

I have already shared my first five #lifetricks which you can find at: https://steemit.com/life/@drwom/lifetricks-great-tricks-and-shortcuts-to-help-you-get-through-life-part-1), and here I continue with #lifetricks 6-10.

6 Always assume a kettle is hot. Don't touch a kettle except by the handle! This trick works for pots and pans and anything else oven-related; in a similar vein
7 Let the cold tap run for a second or two before you wash your hands in the kitchen or bathroom where there are grown ups doing stuff (this one actually happened this week: my daughter burnt (more scalded I suppose) her hand in the bathroom after I had just finished shaving...); leading to
8 Stick your hand (or other bit/s) under cold water as soon as you can after they've been scalded (or burnt)! My daughter really liked this one 😊
9 In a different vein, a good mate of mine (and the drummer in my band) recently passed on one of his #lifetricks in a rehearsal studio: Every time you leave a beer on the floor it will get knocked over. True that. The solution? Never leave unfinished stubbies of beer on the floor. Works equally well for hot drinks like tea and coffee. And should probably be expanded to include leaving hot drinks in other dumb places where they can get knocked over; and
10 Watch the surf before you swim. On a beach with lots of breaking waves, avoid swimming in the bit where there are no waves, or where the pattern of waves is different from the rest. This is where the rip is (a rip is a powerful seawater current pulling into the ocean - rips can be powerful and deadly).

Please share your own #lifetricks wisdom with me!

Thanks for reading 🌞

drwom-01.png

U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

Photo courtesy of pixabay.com
@DrWom and #teamaustralia footers by the fabulous @ryivhnn

Sort:  

I'd been waiting for part 2 @drwom! Some good tips. Been smashed by #7 before!

Thanks nolnocluap - haven't we all :-)

Really glad you're enjoying this. Having a child - even a bright one - you have to rethink everything. There's so much of what people think of as 'common sense' is actually learned behaviour androids start out as a blank slate..
Pretty sure there'll be more to come!

Thanks for sharing such great #lifetricks. Have a great day.

Thanks boomshikkha! You too!

That hot tap one pisses me off so much. I don't know how many times I've done that.

Hahaha yep. Hopefully my daughter can gain from my stoopidity 🙂

Unlikely. These are life lessons you have to you have to learn yourself.

And I still haven't learnt the tap one.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Buzzbeergeek from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Great Job.

upvote and follow me please.

Lifetricks are the little bits of wisdom I find myself giving my daughter every now and then when I think of them - usually through a process of doing - actively using the lifetrick in a day-to-day 'real life' situation. Mostly, they are not very profound. Sometimes I guess they can be.

You just copied that, right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54276.23
ETH 2281.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35