A quick note for fellow Caffeine junkies

in #life7 years ago (edited)

photo 2.JPG

Caffeine is awesome. And Australia has the best coffee in the world (just saying'). But that doesn't mean I need to drink too much!

I used to drink flat whites. In a mug.
What a mug.

Thankfully - and this is probs the only time I'm going to say this - I have a sensitive stomach.
And a generous one. So I'm on a diet - the fast one. (More like slow and steady. On fasting days I can only eat 600 calories. If I was a woman it'd be 500).

It was because of my diet that I discovered that my coffee intake was way too much for my fasting days. It's not fair! I railed at the universe. Dieting is stacked in favour of black coffee drinkers! Black coffee has zero calories, you see.

The universe replied through the form of my friend Joe (whose last name shall remain... um... nameless). "Drink thee piccolos, instead of flat whites, for they are much calorie diminished!" (Exact words may have been altered for dramatic effect.)

So I gave it a try. At first bitter, but not so much as a Macchiato which is essentially a shot with a dribble of (milk) froth.

I started drinking it more often because a) it wasn't so bad and b) I noticed that drinking less dairy had a great effect on my general wellbeing.

And after a week or two I was hooked. It became my standard. Mugs of flat white? OMGs what had I been thinking all this time! I couldn't even taste the coffee!

As a side note, this is how I became a bit of a coffee snob.

But the moral to the story is that just because I have discovered the perfect coffee, doesn't mean that I need to drink 12 cups a day. Even if they are just little cups.

A piccolo is kind of like a mini flat white, and a flat white is... you know what, check it out for yourself here http://www.prepareforaustralia.com.au/living-australia/food-eating/coffee-cafe.aspx

And no matter who you are, drink more pure, clean, crisp, beautiful water.

drwom-01.png

Photo by @DrWom

Stay tuned for an exciting @drwom # steemofconsciousness initiative.
See also https://steemit.com/writing/@drwom/steemofconsciousness-filling-steemit-with-beatniks-and-steemniks

@drwom footer by the fabulous @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

Nice post. Coffee lover here 😊 I agree with you that Australia offers best coffee in the world. Coz i've been there for a 1 week vacation in Darwin Northern Territory.

Mmm coffee 🌞

I like drink coffee. I usually drink a lot of black coffee but sometimes I like drink Cappuccino. Coffee is good. Don't drink caffeine from some kind of energy drink. That kind of things are really bad.

@drwom Really great post.

I beg to differ on Australia coffee being the best in the world lol. I think Kenyan is :) Anyway... coffee remains a drug for many, myself included. I love it black and yes black is more healthier I agree. There has to be limitations in the intake though... For everything becomes poison if its too much!

ION. I love your footer :)

Oh! I don't mean Australian grown coffee - no we import it all from Kenya 🙂

We just know how to make a great coffee!

Damn this assumptions!

I intend on visiting Australia... Gotta try out your way of brewing it! :)

By the way, @ryivhnn (commenting in this thread) did my groovy Wom footer 👀
Thanks again mate!

Warm craft @ryvihnn :)

Is 12 cups too much in one day?

If I drink more coffee, I drink less soft drink. Coffee is good for you at 3 cups but >greater than 3 cups isn't as good for you. I still will take 5 or 6 cups a day over multiple cans of pepsi or other soft drink!

But yes to black coffee being better for you calorie wise, it's good you still can get your coffee without it affecting your diet!

It sure is! And I totally agree about the soft drink. Stuff's evil 😁

Whats a flat white?

Hahaha
It's in the link above. It's basically a shot of espresso in a cup topped up with hot milk 🙂

Flat white sounds like what I'm probably drinking, though maybe not in an epic mug XD (my sister did buy me a large cup that has coffee written all over it and also a lid to keep the insides warm, I use it for 2min noodles because that's way too much coffee XP).

Also down to one a day (from 2-3 so not the biggest drop). I think you definitely should not have 12 cups even if they are teeny XD

Hahaha

12 cups 😳
Nope!

Not even of 2 minute noodles!

Great post and very informative. @drwom Have learnt a lot from it.

Coffe Power!!! :D

Glad to have found you on steemit :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49