Steemit brings good things to light!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I've loved photography and owned cameras all my life. I was quick to get one of those bulky digital cams in the early 00s. The resolution was terrible, especially on those 90 second video clips!

But as you'll soon see and hear, even those old "potato cams" captured something which carries forward to the present. You get the feel of being there, or being there AGAIN. Details about the people and location come to mind. You can almost feel the heat from that flame. Photography, including video, transports us.

About 12 years ago, I was up at my family's cabin with my girlfriend and my younger brother. She was amazing, but it ended suddenly a couple years after this was taken, and I've never heard from her since. Watching this reminds me of her ludicrous but vulnerable personality, and the amazing adventures we had together.

My brother and I had a close relationship all our lives, until alcohol (and other hard drugs) turned him into little more than a raging addiction that destroyed everything around him. He finally burned his last bridge with me by neglecting our dying grandmother, in part due to his addictions, a couple years ago. My life has been very strange without him in it.

The place we're at in the clip, that's called "The Cabin". You might know of a similar place. The Cabin was in my family for decades. Grampa and Dad built it from a foundation, when I was a little boy. We moved houses and towns several times, but the cabin was the only place, other than Grama and Grampa's house, that was always there. Sledding on crystal powder, under a silent black sky and brilliant moon, miles from anyone else. Summers spent fishing and swimming on the lake, every year of my life.

When Grama died, my family sold her house, and The Cabin. But that brings me to the topic. : )

Because I'm a photographer, I have a TON of photos, audio, and video. Not that I'm all that skilled, but I've been to some cool places, always had a camera with me, gotten some lucky shots, and seen some cool things. I've amassed a library. Some of it's unique, and should be shared through Steemit with the world. Some of it, like the following clip, is more personal than unique.

Here's a glimpse into the past, a clear summer's night, in my favourite place, with my favourite people at the time. These were some of the best laughs I've ever had!

I've uploaded thousands of videos and photos to various sites and social media, but nowhere have I EVER thought of posting this clip. And there are hundreds like it, waiting to be brought to light.

Thank you Steem, for helping me get so many photos, videos, and memories into the present, where they can be appreciated. I never knew I needed you, until you came along!!

Note: DTube videos stop playing after a few weeks. I didn't know that, at the time. All that's left now is the thumbnail.

Sort:  

Friend, you can still try to reconnect with your brother. My two brothers stopped talking for a few years, and it was so stressful on myself, them, my mom, and my nieces and nephews ... You may not have other generations to think about, but you have your own!

Thank you for the encouragement! There's more to the story of course (I didn't want to go into dirty details here), but I know that I'll have to forgive him even if he's not willing to admit to himself or anyone else what he did. There's several moving pieces to it all. Right now he's fairly messed up, himself. I think this year will bring positive changes.

Let's hope so, drutter. Living in isolation from loved ones is always hard. Hope you can be reconciled!

You must have had an amazing experience that night.I see how much fun you guys had regardless the quality of the video.The moments are there and that is what is important at least in my opinion.

Thank you for contributing to the Steemit Community.Keep up the great work and I'm looking forward to your next posts.

Thank you very much. Following you too : )
We did make it down to the lake that night (about 3 minute walk). Yes, amazing experience is right! We were definitely high on life.

until alcohol (and other hard drugs)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52