A man with Four wives

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A recent report in BBC Trending revealed that a reality show "Uthando Nes'thembu" roughly translated as Love and Polygamy had been creating quite a buzz in South Africa. The show garnered a decent viewership number. The show centered around Musa Mseleku and his four wives.

Image 1(1).jpg

The show explores the forbidden area of Polygamy in South Africa as well as other long standing customs and traditions of that region. In one episode it was revealed that a curfew was being imposed on the wives after 5 p.m. while permission from the husband is mandatory for some activities such as hanging out with friends or taking alcohol etc. This created quite a furor among the netizens specially the females. However, Musa, his four wives and ten children all are well adjusted and happy.

Image 2.jpg

The news and the show reminded me of an old story: A dying Merchant and his four wives

pic 3.jpg

The was an old merchant living in ancient Egypt with his four wives. He was very wealthy and can afford to maintain his four wives. Besides, in those days it was not quite uncommon having more than one wife. Among his four wives he loved his fourth wife the most. She was young and beautiful. He treated her with the best of dresses, jewelry and delicacies. He entertained her all time in all possible ways. In simple terms He loved her, She loved him

He also loved his third wife very much. She was the most beautiful woman in the town. So he took her by his side all the time and showed her off to friends and society. He made sure she got everything she wants. However, he was always apprehend that one she might runaway with some other younger man.

The man had some love for his second wife also. She was so knowledgeable and intelligent. He always turned to her when he faced trouble and needed advice. She would always help him out and tide him through the difficult times. His first wife was a very loyal partner and took care of everything: from managing his wealth and business to maintaining the household. But he was not attached much to him. She loved him, But he rarely took notice of her

One day the old merchant fell ill. He realized that his end days are coming. He talked to him self

I am wealthy and leading a luxurious life. I have four wives.
But when I will die, I will be alone. How lonely I will be .

pic 4.jpg

He asked for loved three wives around him and told to them, "Look! my dear wives. I don't want to die alone. Who of you will come to me?" None of them responded. Then the merchant asked his fourth wife, "I loved you the most. You got everything even before you uttered your interest - finest clothing, best food, grand jewels. I always take a great care of you. Will you follow me in my death?" The woman didn't say anything, just turned around and left the room. The silence felt like heavy stones on his heart.

Then he turned to his most beautiful second wife, "I love you so much. No wishes of you remained unfulfilled. Now I am dying. Will you follow me and keep me company." "No." replied the wife "Life is so beautiful here. I will remarry another wealthy man and make sure this time that he will be a younger guy." The merchant's heart sank and turned cold.

Now not so enthusiastic he asked his second wife, his confidante, "You are my most trusted wife. I get your help and advice all time I need them. Now I am going to an unknown place. I need your valuable presence there. Will you accompany me this time." "I wish I could." said the second wife "But this time this is not possible. The most I can help you is to send your body to the grave." The answer came like a bolt from the blue and he was devastated.

"I will" a voice came in, "No matter where you will go, I will accompany you and be in you side." The man turned to find his first wife. So pale and skinny that she cannot be spotted immediately. The man was grieved greatly. "Sorry My dear. I have neglected you. I should be aware that you loved me the most and should have taken care of you when I could. But it is too late. I am undone by my own deeds."

Like Musa Mseleku and the anonymous old merchant we all have four wives in my life. The fourth wive represents our body and its cravings. No matter how much time, money and efforts we put on it, it just perishes away when we die. The third wife represents our wealth. It will go to others as soon as we leave this world. The second wife represents our friends and family. The farthest they can accompany us up to the cemetery. The first wife represents something that we don't understand during our lifetime - our soul. Unnoticed, but always present to help us out. It is the most important yet the most ignored, sometimes only realized at the death bed.

pics 6.jpg

We should look after our soul and spirituality before it is too late.

Reference:

  1. http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-trending-40136391
Sort:  

Excellent work dear friend @ drsupriya18, thank you very much for sharing
Have a nice day

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $63.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Hello @drsupriya18,

It gives us pleasure to inform you that your have been chosen to cast vote with 100% VP from "royalmacro" trail.

Learn more about the Royalmacro Trail here!

If you wish to support this initiative, join the Royalmacro voting trail on Streemian. Every vote counts!

We hope to see you continuing to post some great stuff on Steemit!

Good luck!

@royalmacro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67128.03
ETH 3788.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74