MEL'S DINER - GATLINBURG TN REVIEW!

in #life7 years ago

Greetings all!

This diner was SO good I had to make a post about it. It is located near Gatlinburg, TN and hard to find if you don't know what you're looking for. @alovelymess and I were searching through Tripadvisor trying to find a nice place to grab a bite for dinner, and stumbled across this gem. It's kind of a small place, and it was somewhat crowded when we arrived, but we figured if there's a crowd...it's worth it.

IMG_20170816_203122.jpg

This place reminds of my childhood. My brother and I grew up in a small town with a similar diner, and we loved going there with the fam. A few years back, they leveled it and built a...ready for this? Walgreens. Damn you, big pharma!! Both places had a jukebox where you could pick some classics.

It had some super cool artwork on the windows! I'm a sucker for anything with cars.

IMG_20170816_203059.jpg

Ironically, the menu items are named after famous singers/actors. I picked the Elvis Club, which was a triple decker sandwich filled with Turkey, Ham, Bacon, Tomatoes, Lettuce, and Mayo. The day we visited was August 16th, which coincidentally is the 40th anniversary of the day Elvis died. I wasn't aware of this under later! Mind blown.

IMG_20170816_195656.jpg


If you're ever in Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg, be sure to give this a try!

I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by drobinson from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

wow looking peaceful place😍

Looks like a great place to eat. You would think a sandwich named after the king would have peanut butter and bananas. If you've never had a peanut butter and banana sandwich I highly recommend it. Just don't fry it in butter like Elvis used to do.

Super awesome place! I have heard about peanut butter and banana sandwiches, can't say i've had one though. I'm not a huge fan of bananas. Haha.

this place looks cool and the food looks good!

It was delicious! For sure the best food we had there. Thanks!

Well done, my friend! Congratulations!

Thanks so much!

Cool place, so happy days style!

Yes, Happy Days! It was like a trip in time!

This looks awesome, I would love to visit. And what a coincidence that you had that sandwich on such a historic day. I can definitely appreciate the local diner feel. We actually had a Mel's Diner just down the street from me in Toronto when I was growing up (same name, different type of restaurant). And they were a Canadian family owned restaurant. They had the best damn poutine I've ever had. But unfortunately they closed down a few years back :( We need more independent restaurants like this, and less big franchises in my opinion :)

Right? It was crazy when I found that out, haha. Very cool! I can't say I know what poutine is. Bummer they closed! I agree, more small businesses!!

Another awesome post that's making me want to join your life's adventures!😋

Thanks so much! Life is an adventure!

I have been there many times, great food and prices. I am now following you. One tip for you. through you, allow the reader to see, smell, hear, taste and feel what you experience, transport them to where you are. steem on, my friend

Small world! We loved it. Thank you!

Great tips, I will keep that in mind. Thank you! Steem on!

Good post I upvote i like

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56793.50
ETH 3012.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19