CheapJeep Series - Changing The Oil!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When was the last time you changed your oil?


Can't remember? ...it may be time.

I knew for a few days I needed to change the oil in the #CheapJeep, but I had to put it off due to being sick. Today I finally felt a little better, so I decided to go ahead and change that before our Seattle trip. Also we have a super annoying beeper that goes off when it's time to change it, so I always do it before it starts yelling at us.

Oh, also, after I wrapped this up I worked on that little woodworking project for a fellow Steemian, I can't wait to share that with you soon!

Really quick: How do you say oil? Is it 'ol' or 'oye yuhl'? Asking for a friend.

Onto the ol!

After locating the oil cap, I like to place it on the hood latch so I don't shut the hood without forgetting to put it on.
DSC_1794.JPG

After locating the drain plug (it's very easy to find), a 14mm socket and ratchet was used to loosen it.
DSC_1799.JPG

Don't forget to have your drain pan under there!
DSC_1804.jpg

While it's draining or after it's done and the drain plug is reinstalled, I like to locate the oil filter. This one is on the passenger side of the engine.
DSC_1802.JPG

I make sure the gasket on the old filter isn't still stuck to the engine block. If it was I would pull it off, if I didn't then the new gasket would not seal and i'd have a big mess on my hands the floor.
DSC_1811.JPG

Before putting the filter back on, I poured it about 3/4 full with fresh oil to 'prime' it. Only hand tighten.
DSC_1807.JPG

After you get the filter on, all that's left is refill your engine with oil and reinstall your cap! I used 10w30 oil to refill mine, and it took 5 quarts. Use your owner's manual or google to find your car's oil capacity. That's it!


I LOVE getting feedback! Do you have suggestions or comments on how to improve my posts? If so, post them below, I want to hear from you!

Sort:  

Very useful, thanks for sharing!

You're welcome, thank you!

Oil is the life line of your vehicle, most important part of maintenance

That's exactly right!

please help my vote because i need your vote

Nice ‘howto’ instructional blog. That’s what’s steemit is all about...quality posts like this. Keep on Steemin!

Thank you!!

good post friends

Well post thanks for sharing I like this information

Thanks for sharing

Thank you for sharing this

A fun series thanks... jeeps are so easy to work with, My wife had a Mercedes a while back. She came home one day and said my oil light came on... so off I went to check the oil level. I looked and looked for the dang dipstick and couldn't find it. Got out the manual thinking I lost part of my mental recognition functions. Nothing in there, so Google here I am...again nothing to help me locate this thing. I finally called a dealer... he said they don't have one! What,how I longed for the simplicity of working on my own vehicles for the small things (well big things too when I was younger and could more elegantly get under one). Sorry to ramble... but your post just brought it out.

Haha, thank you for sharing! I had that moment as well, at my previous job I have changed a Mercedes oil at the shop one day, and I had the same problem. Turns out it's all electronic. Some of the dipsticks on mercedes are at the very back tucked in on the drivers side of the engine. It's kind of odd..I much rather prefer the dipstick, it makes way more sense! I'm glad to see you are enjoying the series!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45