You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thank God I'm Not a Dentist! 🙌

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Freedom is amazing! I am glad you found it. You are right, there is a high suicide rate/ Depression amongst the dental profession. It is very sad and it doesn't help when the world sees us the way they do.

I am sure you've seen and know the work and effort dentist had to put into, it's harsh. Dental students commiting suicide on the first year, Dentist overdose on "numbing" medication, not to mention the HIGH divorce rates.

Working on a small field is horrible for us too, we have to manage the soft tissue and not take too long because it is uncomfortable for our beloved patients.

It is important to catch it and to encourage Dentist to speak to someone or to have someone that understands them. MY hope is to raise awareness of mental health and to hopefully too robotics flourish in the field of dentistry. It will make our lives and the world a better place!

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply, @drlamisters! The more I think about it, the more I'm sure the exposure to toxic chemicals like mercury plays a significant role in depression rates amongst dentists as well, in addition to those things you mention. It is a stressful field!

Even though dentists are respected experts in Western "healthcare", they are in relatively poor health! Medical doctors are really not all that healthy either - relying on pharmaceuticals is not actual health, and most doctors I know take drugs regularly. I believe there needs to be a complete paradigm shift in these industries for practitioners & patients to understand & live real, thriving wellness!

Mental health is inseparable from overall health, dental health is inseparable from overall health, but the standard Western approach is to compartmentalize all of these elements without looking at the whole being.

I don't want to see anyone struggle with depression. It's a horrible place to be stuck, but there are plenty of known, established, successful options. In fact I talk about my own experience with it in one of my latest posts. It would be great if everyone had someone to talk to when they feel the symptoms coming on, or that someone would be able to point it out to them if they can't see it for themselves, or better yet if everyone was armed with tools & tricks to address it head on and reverse the cycles of depression!

Very well said @saramiller. I totally agree, the system needs to change. I can go on and on and on, but for sure this topic is very close to my heart.
I will check out your post and Happy New year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42