Scenic Ride On The New Bike...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

...A.K.A Date With Hubby

IMG_20170517_140346.jpg


My husband started up a side business this year. Technically he's buying bikes, refurbishing, repairing, then selling them.

In reality it's an excuse for him to try out different motorcycles every few weeks...not that I'm complaining, we do make a bit of money in the eventual sale and in the meantime I get to enjoy days like these :)

Today we took a trip down Route 89 to Ithaca along Cayuga Lake -what I generally refer to as 'the other lake' since I grew up on Seneca where my parent's still live.

Note: Seneca and Cayuga are the largest of the eleven lakes that form what is known as The Finger Lakes- a region of Upstate NY and my home for the majority of my life.

Not that there's anything wrong with Cayuga, it's quite beautiful, and generally more peaceful--which, to be honest is the reason I'm not as fond of it. I love the wildness and unpredictability of it's 'sister'. (If you don't know what I'm referring to, see my first post of the day) Good Morning steemit!


IMG_20170517_140224.jpg


We stopped off at Glenwood Pines to take in the view...

IMG_20170517_135928.jpg


Actually, the view we were interested in was on the other side of the road:


IMG_20170517_140431.jpg


IMG_20170517_140518.jpg


After a nice long ride (on by far the most comfortable motorcycle seat I have ever had the pleasure of sitting on) we headed down to Sheldrake Point.

IMG_20170517_143123.jpg


It's likely you'll see a great deal of pictures of this particular spot in the summer. The one thing I will give Cayuga Lake over Seneca is that it's calmer waters are far more suited for activities such as jet skiing and boating of all kinds.

IMG_20170517_143128.jpg


It's also a public park, and while the privacy of my parent's lakefront is what I prefer on a daily basis, it's fun to gather here with friends and other people of the community for bbq's, beers, and campfires.

IMG_20170517_143135.jpg


And that concludes my date with my man...well, the portion of it I'll share on steemit anyway- ( Babe, just a few more minutes, let me put up this post, then we can "snuggle" )



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Sort:  

It's far too many years (decades) since I was last on the back of a motorbike. Your summer is going to be such fun!

Oh that is too long, you must find a way to remedy that! I know it will, I'm quite happy about it :)

That is a beautiful lake. I didn't realise you were half biker chick! And don't think we didn't notice your parting line!! ;0)

Half biker chick is the perfect way to describe it, since I'm only a passenger, I don't drive :)
you noticed that? Shit! :)

Congratulations dear friend @dreemit for the beautiful ride and the extraordinary motorcycle, thank you very much for sharing these beautiful postcards

Biker's Queen!.....That's my AKA for you,Yo like it?

Haha! Sure ;)

😎😎😎😍😍

That's a really beautiful lake. I bet it was a fun trip on a bike. That's a interesting side business to have. It's cool you both get to benefit from it in the form of adventures to pretty places.

It is, it was, it is, and it definitely is :0) Yeah, I'm looking forward to upcoming trips, that's for sure!

I want to meet your husband! That man knows what to invest. Very nice bike my friend! I could not imagine the dear @dreemit otherwise than, with her hair to the wind on that bike. Like a rockstar! Haha

I'm sure he would love to meet you too! And if you ever come to the east coast of the US, you would be a most welcome guest in our home :)

Thank you very much my friend. And obviously, if you ever visit Argentina, you are welcome in my dear San Juan. Big hug!

Love those waterfall pics, well all the pics really. Looks like a fun day!

It was :) Did you see the lake pictures from this morning? That's when I love being at the water the most, when the wind is whipping and the waves are crashing :)

The whitecaps are exciting to see on a lake, I can see the water beating the dock!

What a great way to get out and enjoy the weather. Beautiful photos of an amazing area. Never been to that area, hope to visit some time. Those stairstep falls are really cool. Thanks for sharing your grand day out on the bike.

If you ever do come to NY, let me know and I will be glad to be your host and tour guide :)

Awesome view! It's great that you and Howie are afforded the opportunity to have trips like this, especially now that the kids have grown up. I'm not a big fan of bikes, mainly because of the attitude of bikers here. But, I've seen enough biker stories there that make me think that the bikers here are outliers.

Ooohhhh saucy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58971.18
ETH 3225.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29